Cappuccino Cake with Mocha Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
This was disappointing. The cake part had very little flavor. The frosting only had a very faint flavor, and that flavor was chocolate - no coffee flavor came through. I won't make this again. (The only positive thing I can say is that there was ample frosting; I had some left over even after I generously frosted the cake.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
My Husband and I love this cake. It is a favorite at birthdays now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
It doesn't really taste like cappuccino, but it's really yummy anyway. My family, friends, and I really like it.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Sullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
The cake was VERY quick to make since you only need to add cappuccino coffee powder, eggs, and oil to a white cake mix. The frosting was more complicated since you have to alternate cocoa, powdered sugar, and milk-quite messy. Also, it tasted greasy, like a Pepperidge Farm cake. I would like to find an easier and tastier frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
The cake was tasty and moist and stayed moist for a week after I made it. I would make it again. I did not make the frosting although.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jambalaya04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I only made the frosting, but it was easy and delicious. I used about 1/2 of the coffee-water mixture and it had a very distinct mocha flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
My whole family hated it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Delicious! I used espresso that I made myself instead of the called for instant coffee. Next time I will use more espresso and less cocoa powder, but it still turned out wonderful. Everyone loved it and it was really easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I made this for my high school Culinary Arts class. My chef LOVED it. It was super easy to follow and make. I didn't change anything to the recipe. It was perfect all on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
yummiest cupcakes ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States