Cappuccino Cake with Mocha Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
This was disappointing. The cake part had very little flavor. The frosting only had a very faint flavor, and that flavor was chocolate - no coffee flavor came through. I won't make this again. (The only positive thing I can say is that there was ample frosting; I had some left over even after I generously frosted the cake.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
My Husband and I love this cake. It is a favorite at birthdays now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
It doesn't really taste like cappuccino, but it's really yummy anyway. My family, friends, and I really like it.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Sullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
The cake was VERY quick to make since you only need to add cappuccino coffee powder, eggs, and oil to a white cake mix. The frosting was more complicated since you have to alternate cocoa, powdered sugar, and milk-quite messy. Also, it tasted greasy, like a Pepperidge Farm cake. I would like to find an easier and tastier frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
The cake was tasty and moist and stayed moist for a week after I made it. I would make it again. I did not make the frosting although.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jambalaya04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I only made the frosting, but it was easy and delicious. I used about 1/2 of the coffee-water mixture and it had a very distinct mocha flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
My whole family hated it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Delicious! I used espresso that I made myself instead of the called for instant coffee. Next time I will use more espresso and less cocoa powder, but it still turned out wonderful. Everyone loved it and it was really easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I made this for my high school Culinary Arts class. My chef LOVED it. It was super easy to follow and make. I didn't change anything to the recipe. It was perfect all on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
yummiest cupcakes ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States