Capirotada (Mexican Bread Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2001
This was a great recipe. I used a "fruit Medley" mix(instead of all raisins), which is a combination of chopped dried fruits such as apricots, apples, pears, sultanas and some raisins etc.,between the layers. Everyone loved it at the dinner party. Served with a dollop of cream. You could also substitute chopped Pecan nuts instead of the Walnuts, if you felt they had too stronger flavour.(Lyn Smith)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
If I made this again I would double the Sugar water mix. It did not completely cover the bread. Otherwise very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Try adding 1/2 - 1 tsp each of orange and lemon zest to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
I made this just because I happened to have all the ingredients on hand. It's fantastic! Like a sweet French toast casserole, minus the eggs. Would be great as a brunch dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This recipe is different from the traditional way I've always made capirotada. But since it was so much faster to prepare I wanted to try it. I can't say I loved it. My kids wouldn't touch it and I think my husband only ate it because he felt bad for me. I would recommend more traditional capirotada recipes from other sites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
What i would change about this recipe, because its the original way to do it, is use piloncillo, instead of the sugar. you can find piloncillo in the grocery store.. And if you like, add some chopped coconut on top of it. With the piloncillo , the flavor changes for better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheigzz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Ok but i was used to the way my mother made it which was similar except the water was anise tea which really tastes great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Webster, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Very tasty but it was not moist enough for me. so i added a big more pineapple juice and cream..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Rai Tan
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
The way I do it. I use Mexican bread called bolillo I sliced them about 1" slices butter them up, toast them up and set aside., I use piloncillo, water, canela sticks, cloves and make a syrup. I use Monterrey jack cheese and I do the layer system. I use a deep baking pan or dish. tortilla in the bottom, so it won't burn. bread, banana slices, walnuts, raisins ,apples chunks, dried plums, you basically put what you like i have to do two batches because my son does not like bananas, well then you and the cheese top that with one cup or more so you soak the bread a little with the piloncillo syrup. then start second layer. you can go a high as 4 layers. hope you like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States