Caper Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2000
This was pretty good my husband really liked it. I did do a few things differently. I used boneless chicken and cut way down on the olive oil. I only had green olives on hand and used them but personally I would skip them and add more mushrooms. I also cut way down on the pepperoni to reduce the fat in the dish but still get the taste. I did add some fresh garlic and omitted the oven step since I used boneless chicken.I served it over pasta. I have to say it was different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2000
1)Loose the soup in favor of some Creme fraiche at the end of simmering time. 2)Reduce cooking time by using chicken breast/tenders 3)Loose the sausage 4)Serve with pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I really like this recipe. This recipe makes me think of puttanesca because of the olives and capers with a tomoto base. I decided to give it a little more of a puttanesca orientation by adding some anchovies. I only put in a few. They break down and disappear into the sauce but their flavor is there and it compliments this recipe. Using turkey preperoni decreases the fat and does not impact the flavor much (if any). This recipe needs a heavier red wine. I don't understand white wines in recipes like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brown City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2000
requires a very large skillet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Very interesting....I was skeptical..but it turned out just fine with my modifications. I used b/s chicken breast and used my rolling pin to pound it out a bit. Dredged in flour fired in olive oil, removed from pan - sauteed onion *garlic and mushrooms. added all other ingredients, brought to a simmer then I added the chicken. Simmered with lid on for 20 then threw it in the oven at 350 for 20 more minutes. The chicken was falling apart! It was delish. Oh and I only used about an ounce of pepperoni because I was a tad scared of using it in anything other than a pizza dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCINNB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford Lakes, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Very flavorful... I too used boneless/skinless breast meat and omitted the pepperoni to reduce the fat. I also added more mushrooms and capers. My Husband raved about it... we love olives and mushrooms :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was so different from my usual Cacciatore recipe which is why I was so anxious to try it. I'm a huge caper and olive fan and thought they both went very well with this dish. I did, however, add my usual garlic and onion powders along with some Italian seasonings. Terrific dish Jo Ann and thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I have a standing "Monday Night Chicken Night" to connect with friends and relax into the week. We enjoy each others company and talk politics, the world, and anything that is on our minds. This recipe is the most requested of all the recipes that I cook. It is kind of rich so I don't cook it as often as it's requested. So when I do cook it I have from 15 - 20 people show up for dinner on the presentation of this recipe. It makes for great conversations and cudos for the cook. I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Woodard Jr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: West Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Left out the cream soup and wine, and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaybee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salford, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2001
This was good, a bit salty and the sauce is a little heavy, but it was still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States