Caper Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Volleyballmom
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
2 thumbs up. We have a mushroom allergy so subbed in 2 green peppers. Also left out the canned soup, personal preference. Didn't miss it. 1/4 cup olive oil is a little heavy. We also browned the pepperoni. Yum. This is an easy recipe with lots of flavour for the effort. This is a keeper. Thanks for sharing JoAnn M. Jarrach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This recipe was very good! I only used chicken legs and thighs though and I omitted the pepperoni. To replace some of that flavor I added 1 Tbsp of dried Italian seasoning along with 2 tsp of dried rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Lots of flavors here but I thought that it was all a bit too muddled. I think losing the soup and also the sausage would help clean it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Left out the cream soup and wine, and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaybee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salford, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Skipped the pepperoni, served over wild steamed rice, incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Very interesting....I was skeptical..but it turned out just fine with my modifications. I used b/s chicken breast and used my rolling pin to pound it out a bit. Dredged in flour fired in olive oil, removed from pan - sauteed onion *garlic and mushrooms. added all other ingredients, brought to a simmer then I added the chicken. Simmered with lid on for 20 then threw it in the oven at 350 for 20 more minutes. The chicken was falling apart! It was delish. Oh and I only used about an ounce of pepperoni because I was a tad scared of using it in anything other than a pizza dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCINNB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford Lakes, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was so different from my usual Cacciatore recipe which is why I was so anxious to try it. I'm a huge caper and olive fan and thought they both went very well with this dish. I did, however, add my usual garlic and onion powders along with some Italian seasonings. Terrific dish Jo Ann and thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Thank you. I was casting about for ideas and realized all were in my fridge and pantry. I did not have pepperoni. Did no miss it This is truly a "classic recipe". Thanks again for the brain boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This is so good. I used chicken thighs instead of the whole chicken. Use a little salt and pepper on the chicken. Try your own season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I really like this recipe. This recipe makes me think of puttanesca because of the olives and capers with a tomoto base. I decided to give it a little more of a puttanesca orientation by adding some anchovies. I only put in a few. They break down and disappear into the sauce but their flavor is there and it compliments this recipe. Using turkey preperoni decreases the fat and does not impact the flavor much (if any). This recipe needs a heavier red wine. I don't understand white wines in recipes like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brown City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States