Caper Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Lots of flavors here but I thought that it was all a bit too muddled. I think losing the soup and also the sausage would help clean it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Left out the cream soup and wine, and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salford, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Skipped the pepperoni, served over wild steamed rice, incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Very interesting....I was skeptical..but it turned out just fine with my modifications. I used b/s chicken breast and used my rolling pin to pound it out a bit. Dredged in flour fired in olive oil, removed from pan - sauteed onion *garlic and mushrooms. added all other ingredients, brought to a simmer then I added the chicken. Simmered with lid on for 20 then threw it in the oven at 350 for 20 more minutes. The chicken was falling apart! It was delish. Oh and I only used about an ounce of pepperoni because I was a tad scared of using it in anything other than a pizza dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCINNB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford Lakes, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was so different from my usual Cacciatore recipe which is why I was so anxious to try it. I'm a huge caper and olive fan and thought they both went very well with this dish. I did, however, add my usual garlic and onion powders along with some Italian seasonings. Terrific dish Jo Ann and thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Thank you. I was casting about for ideas and realized all were in my fridge and pantry. I did not have pepperoni. Did no miss it This is truly a "classic recipe". Thanks again for the brain boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This is so good. I used chicken thighs instead of the whole chicken. Use a little salt and pepper on the chicken. Try your own season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I really like this recipe. This recipe makes me think of puttanesca because of the olives and capers with a tomoto base. I decided to give it a little more of a puttanesca orientation by adding some anchovies. I only put in a few. They break down and disappear into the sauce but their flavor is there and it compliments this recipe. Using turkey preperoni decreases the fat and does not impact the flavor much (if any). This recipe needs a heavier red wine. I don't understand white wines in recipes like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brown City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I have a standing "Monday Night Chicken Night" to connect with friends and relax into the week. We enjoy each others company and talk politics, the world, and anything that is on our minds. This recipe is the most requested of all the recipes that I cook. It is kind of rich so I don't cook it as often as it's requested. So when I do cook it I have from 15 - 20 people show up for dinner on the presentation of this recipe. It makes for great conversations and cudos for the cook. I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Woodard Jr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: West Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Very flavorful... I too used boneless/skinless breast meat and omitted the pepperoni to reduce the fat. I also added more mushrooms and capers. My Husband raved about it... we love olives and mushrooms :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States