Cape Cod Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I love oatmeal cookies and really wanted to like this recipe, but there was just something off. The cookies spread very thin while baking (ours look much thinner than the picture) and just seem sort of tasteless. Also very fragile and just fall apart after baking. They look like they're just some oats glopped together; maybe the recipe needs more flour to really be a "cookie?" I think dried cranberries would be better than raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Reviewed on Aug. 19,2012 by LucyLuo These cookies are delicious ! They have a very good flavor. Easy & Fast receipe to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This is a variation of the recipe found in The Fannie Farmer Cookbook. I think it should be 1/2 cup of melted vegetable shortening OR 1/2 cup of melted butter, not both. This is doubling the fat! Personally, I use vegetable oil and it works great. I also cut the sugar in half and use whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I like walnuts fairly well and raisins so-so but dislike either in a cookie. So left those out and then doubled the chocolate chips. These were very good. Made small as indicated, they do make about the 70 yield. I wish yield was on the printed version instead of "servings." It made way more than I expected. I tried googling this recipe title and I'm not sure what makes them "Cape Cod" -- the only thing they all had in common was the molasses, tho the majority did have raisins. Based on your tastes, the other additions make them even better. A lot of oatmeal cookies seem dry and boring, but in my opinion these were flavorful and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This is recipe from Fannie Farmer Cookbook! I like them, they are basic, traditional, but still good...nice and chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Good recipe. I slightly decreased the sugar and increased the molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
This cookie although having several ingredients is just not all that great. And I am a major cookie fan and baker but found it to be pretty boring. I added a little more flour after I mixed all the dough because the dough was so gooey and the cookie itself looked really good, just not alot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Everyone in my offices loved these cookies...I added about 1-2 T more butter to make the dough stick together better. Try it with craisins and white chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
We love this recipe. The cinnamon and molasses give it a nice flavor. I use a cookie scoop to get a nice, even-sized cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This recipe is great. Living in Denver, I changed it a little for high alt. I added more flour, less baking soda and more molasses. Deleted the nuts. (my son can't eat nuts). Everyone at work loved them. Next time I will try cranberries, instead of raisins/chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States