Cape Breton Blueberry Grunt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
After reading the reviews, I used a lot less sugar to retain the fresh blueberry taste. This was a delicious dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Loved this recipe! Made as directed except for butter instead of shortening and used an extra cup of blueberries because I needed to get rid of them. :) Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I thought I had just shy of 3 cups of blueberries. Because I was using a bigger casserole to bake it in, I decided I would add 1 1/2 of raspberries. Turns out, I had 1 7/8 cups of blueberries and 1 cup of Saskatoon berries. So, my blueberry grunt turned into blueberry/Saskatoon/raspberry grunt. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Denis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I used less sugar because I did not have quite 3 cups of berries. However, I think you could have used 4 cups of berries in this recipe and still have had plenty of topping. I changed a few other things besides the reduction of sugar. I squeezed the juice of half a fresh lemon over the sugared berries and put the zest of that half lemon in there also. Then I put on the topping as directed. Oh and I used coconut oil in replacement for the shortening because that is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boona

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I told myself if this actually turned out well the way I made it, I'd write a review. So here I am. I kind of doubled the recipe (used up the rest of my 10 pounds of blueberries, about 5.5 cups, give or take a few moldy ones). Used coconut sugar instead of white sugar, and with my 5.5 cups of blueberries I used one cup of sugar total to sprinkle on top. It was plenty. Used 4 tbsp butter instead of shortening, and I accidentally melted it all the way instead of creaming it. Used sweetened original almond milk instead of regular milk, whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose. I used a 9x13 pan instead of a casserole dish, and it all fit in fine without bubbling over or spilling. I have a convection oven so it baked at 325 F for about 32 minutes, and then I left it in the oven after I turned it off. It came out GREAT!!!! I didn't think the topping tasted bland, but my milk was slightly sweet, and coconut sugar tastes awesome. So maybe that made a big difference. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
A good receipe, but this is not a grunt. Grunts are cooked on top of the stove and the dumplings are steamed in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Great recipe! I used butter instead of shortening, added 1 T. vanilla and used 1/2 cup sugar on the blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
i'm rating this even when I forgot to add the sugar to the blueberries. Our plump BC blueberries were so flavourful that the accidental omition worked out anyways. Super tasty with yummy fresh blueberries ( might need sugar with frozen store bought ones though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This dessert made me feel like June Cleaver. A true dessert from years gone by. Rustic and delicious. This is not a dessert to serve at a high end dinner party, but as a meal ender for close friends and family ... it cannot be beat. My husband said this was the best dessert I ever made. Very high praise for such a simple recipe. I will be making this again and again. I added the zest of one lime to the blueberries, increased to 1/4 teaspoon of salt, butter instead of shorting, and gave the batter a good sprinkling of sanding sugar to add a little texture and crunch. Don't forgo a big dollop of whip cream. It is essential to the look and taste of this dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Oh wow. I made this with New Brunswick blueberries, which weren't very sweet this year, and reduced the first cup of sugar to 1/2 cup, and it was still AMAZING. Just the right sweetness. I also substituted butter in place of the shortening. If using sweeter blueberries, like those on the West Coast, I'd probably use 1/4 cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States