Cantonese Style Pork and Shrimp Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
These have become a new favorite, but after trial and error, I've decreased the amount of sesame oil to 1 teaspoon and changed the cooking method. I brown the dumplings on both sides, add 1/4 cup of water, cover with a lid and let cook until the water cooks off (about 5 minutes). This gives them the perfect crispy/chewy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
These dumplings were delicious and had a good balance of flavor and texture. I used ground chicken instead of pork and it still turned out very good. I also halved each shrimp lengthwise, since a whole shrimp was too large to be able to seal the wrappers easily (you'll only need to buy 1/2 the amount of shrimp if you do this). I steamed the dumplings in a bamboo steamer for 10 minutes, then pan fried one side for some crunch. Next time, I will steam for only 5 minutes (they were over-cooked at 10 minutes, although still very tasty). If using a bamboo steamer, make sure to place dumplings on cabbage leaves or parchment paper to prevent sticking (just make sure there's enough space around each for the steam to circulate; or poke holes in the cabbage/parchment)\ so steam can pass through). I chopped the water chestnuts small, but also chopped a few in larger bits... it makes for a nice surprise crunch here and there. What took these dumplings to the next level was serving them with dipping sauces. I was happy to finally use up our collection of sauce packets saved from Chinese take-outs; basically a combination of soy sauce, vinegar, spicy chili oil, citrus & ginger will do. We found the best sauce was the "Potsticker Sauce" from Panda Express. Next time I visit, I will stock up on those packets! This is a great recipe that would take well to ingredient substitutions/additions. You can swap the watercress for any other leafy green vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This is a delicious recipe! But I changed a few things: I added more pork, and I chopped the shrimps and mixed them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chikalin
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
absolutely wonderful dumplings. they receive rave reviews every time i make them. i use a food processor to eliminate having to chop everything by hand, and i cook them in a bamboo steamer because it's easier than boiling, healthier than frying, and i just happened to have one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
These were fabulous. I definitely need to add some ginger, it was the one spice that I really missed. I baked them at 450 for about 15 min. after I sprayed with Pam. Did one tray so they overlapped a bit but next time I would use 2 so I could spread them out. Had to use wonton wrappers but that was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
These tasted great! I didn't know how long to preheat my oil and got it too hot, so they were a little too crispy, but I will definately try again. I also boiling a few of them in chicken broth and they fell apart. What I did salvage tasted super. I just need to work on this one a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
A bit time consuming but worth it. Very tasty. I chopped up the shrimp and incorporated into the mixture. Also used wonton wrappers and baked in a 425 oven for 18 minutes, flipping halfway through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyons, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
SO GOOD!!! The only thing I didn't add was the watercress (I couldn't find any at the grocery store). It's a little tedious but worth it. We fried some up right away and will be making wonton soup tomorrow (I made them as wontons). My fiancee actally said, "bad news honey, you're going to have to make these again"!! **It's now the next day and don't make the same mistake I did (which, in retrospect, seems rather obvious), EAT OR FREEZE IMMEDIATELY!!!! When left in the fridge overnight, I awoke to a doughy mess that ended up going down the garbage disposal! Such a shame...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Good, not fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Sorry, not sure if I did something wrong, but I went by the recipe, and these just did not have as much flavor as I was expecting. Pretty bland. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States