Cantonese Style Pork and Shrimp Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
This recipe was really good. I cut down on the sesame oil from prior experience with it. (it is very strong flavored) Will definitley make it again...very easy. Used ground chicken....cause that's what i had on hand, came out great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
Perfecto. These have to be some of the best dumpling/wontons I have ever had. I made a triple batch to freeze the extras so I can always have some on hand to make at a moment's notice. I prefer to bake mine at 425 for 15 mintues, turning over halfway through cooking. Thanks so much for coming up with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
These Dumplings are irrestible and are just like ones I had in Cantonese Style Chinese Restaurant and are Excellent, These would even be better served with a spicey soy sauce for dipping. These were Awsome Vivian!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
These were fabulous. I definitely need to add some ginger, it was the one spice that I really missed. I baked them at 450 for about 15 min. after I sprayed with Pam. Did one tray so they overlapped a bit but next time I would use 2 so I could spread them out. Had to use wonton wrappers but that was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
My wife and I made these dumplings togeher and had wonderful tme with it. We used wonton wrappers and made them more like a wonton than a dumpling...but it makes no difference - they are SPECTACULAR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chikalin
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
absolutely wonderful dumplings. they receive rave reviews every time i make them. i use a food processor to eliminate having to chop everything by hand, and i cook them in a bamboo steamer because it's easier than boiling, healthier than frying, and i just happened to have one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
SO GOOD!!! The only thing I didn't add was the watercress (I couldn't find any at the grocery store). It's a little tedious but worth it. We fried some up right away and will be making wonton soup tomorrow (I made them as wontons). My fiancee actally said, "bad news honey, you're going to have to make these again"!! **It's now the next day and don't make the same mistake I did (which, in retrospect, seems rather obvious), EAT OR FREEZE IMMEDIATELY!!!! When left in the fridge overnight, I awoke to a doughy mess that ended up going down the garbage disposal! Such a shame...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
These tasted great! I didn't know how long to preheat my oil and got it too hot, so they were a little too crispy, but I will definately try again. I also boiling a few of them in chicken broth and they fell apart. What I did salvage tasted super. I just need to work on this one a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
These were the best dumplings I ever had! The only thing I changed was I used a lb of pork and doubled everything else. Glad I did because they were sooo good. Also made hoisin sauce to dip. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
A bit time consuming but worth it. Very tasty. I chopped up the shrimp and incorporated into the mixture. Also used wonton wrappers and baked in a 425 oven for 18 minutes, flipping halfway through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyons, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States