Cantonese Style Lobster Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
My favorite Cantonese recipe! Also is great with just scallions, ginger, and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
This recipe is great!! I didn't have ground pork so I left it out and it still turned out flavorful. I did add some chopped cilantro leaves at the end of cooking just because we loved cilantro. Definitely a recipe to keep, thanks Alison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JCH
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I've now made this about 10 times. I've drifted from the recipe a few times, but the best taste comes from this recipe as is. Those who question sausage + lobster really have to just give this a try - it's worth the risk. Wanna spice it up - add some cajun seasoning or cayenne pepper...and a splash of hot sauce. Delicious with or without!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Al
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Just made it over the weekend and it was superb. A few tips to add to this recipe: Add more cooking time, say 6-7 minutes as my lobster came up just a little on the raw side - or cook it with pan covered. The skin of the lobster should turn bright red thoughout. I used vermouth instead of sherry, vegetable oil instead of peanut oil. Came out just fine. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I had some leftover cooked lobsters in the fridge and was looking for a recipe that wasn't loaded with butter or heavy cream! So the only change I made to this recipe was to use pre-cooked lobsters instead of cooking the meat with the ginger. My boyfriend and I LOVED this and can't wait to make it again! Not only was it easy but it had AMAZING flavor! Definitely a must try! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Very easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I made this for Easter Sunday for my husband and me. I followed the recipe exactly and we both just loved it. It reminded me of one of my favorite meals at a wonderful NY restaurant, Hankow's, that mom and I would go to at least once a month when I was growing up. Thanks for the memories and for this recipe, Alison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Summerfield, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I had a Chinese grandma, too. This is definitely in the realm of authentic. In our family, the base flavor comes from Black Bean sauce instead of just soy. I think the flavors are more intense. I also use more garlic, more ginger, more pork and more egg. It stretches the lobster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Cook this recipe 7 it 8 times already over the last few years! Love this recipe and have cravings for it every now and then. Since the sauce is good, I usually cook some Asian noodles ( boil in water then blanch in cold water) and mix with the sauce to soak up all the wonderful juices so that's lobster noodle dish or Chinese call it "yee mien" Imade this dish several times using singleness crab as well, also very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I was very confused since I had live lobsters so I put it in the freezer to make it sleepy, turns out though they are sleepy they still flop around when that happens. I was too spooked after it almost gave me a heart attack by coming "back to life".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States