Cantonese Style Lobster Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Mine came out just wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I have been killing/cooking lobsters for 40 years. Next time try to put it in the freezer then turn it over and put a very sharp knife into the soft area where the tail meets the body. When you do that it cuts the spinal cord and the lobster dies. You will also find a "sack" behind the eyes. DO NOT EAT THAT. That is the stomach. Pull it out and discard. I hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Lobster Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandwich, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I was very confused since I had live lobsters so I put it in the freezer to make it sleepy, turns out though they are sleepy they still flop around when that happens. I was too spooked after it almost gave me a heart attack by coming "back to life".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Cook this recipe 7 it 8 times already over the last few years! Love this recipe and have cravings for it every now and then. Since the sauce is good, I usually cook some Asian noodles ( boil in water then blanch in cold water) and mix with the sauce to soak up all the wonderful juices so that's lobster noodle dish or Chinese call it "yee mien" Imade this dish several times using singleness crab as well, also very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I had a Chinese grandma, too. This is definitely in the realm of authentic. In our family, the base flavor comes from Black Bean sauce instead of just soy. I think the flavors are more intense. I also use more garlic, more ginger, more pork and more egg. It stretches the lobster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I made this for Easter Sunday for my husband and me. I followed the recipe exactly and we both just loved it. It reminded me of one of my favorite meals at a wonderful NY restaurant, Hankow's, that mom and I would go to at least once a month when I was growing up. Thanks for the memories and for this recipe, Alison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Summerfield, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Very easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I had some leftover cooked lobsters in the fridge and was looking for a recipe that wasn't loaded with butter or heavy cream! So the only change I made to this recipe was to use pre-cooked lobsters instead of cooking the meat with the ginger. My boyfriend and I LOVED this and can't wait to make it again! Not only was it easy but it had AMAZING flavor! Definitely a must try! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Al
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Just made it over the weekend and it was superb. A few tips to add to this recipe: Add more cooking time, say 6-7 minutes as my lobster came up just a little on the raw side - or cook it with pan covered. The skin of the lobster should turn bright red thoughout. I used vermouth instead of sherry, vegetable oil instead of peanut oil. Came out just fine. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCH
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I've now made this about 10 times. I've drifted from the recipe a few times, but the best taste comes from this recipe as is. Those who question sausage + lobster really have to just give this a try - it's worth the risk. Wanna spice it up - add some cajun seasoning or cayenne pepper...and a splash of hot sauce. Delicious with or without!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

HERDEZ® Lobster Tacos

See how to make sweet, rich lobster tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States