Cantonese Lean Pork Congee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I think the issue people are having with the water-rice ratio is the result of the author using a different definition of a "cup" of rice. Chinese people use the little cup that comes with a rice cooker to measure rice, roughly pronounced as "muk" and is maybe half (or even less) than a standard measurement cup. Congee is generally made with a water to rice ratio of around 10:1. possibly greater. This recipe implies 5:1 which is far too little water. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Empenguin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
Hi Caroline, Really enjoy your reviews. Here is what I found on your question below: "Hundred Year Egg Also called century egg, thousand-year egg and Ming Dynasty egg , these are (usually) chicken eggs preserved by being covered with lime, ashes and salt before being shallowly buried for 100 days. The lime "petrifies" the egg and makes it appear that it has been buried for at least a century. After the black outer coating and shell are removed, a firm, amber-colored white and creamy, dark green yolk are revealed. They will keep at room temperature for up to 2 weeks or up to a month in the fridge . Hundred Year Eggs are usually eaten uncooked as an appetizer, often with accompaniments such as soy sauce or minced ginger. The flavour is pungent and cheeselike." This isn't my taste and would probably just use 2 hard cooked chicken eggs if I was making this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
This recipe is completly authentic and delicious! For anyone who hasn't had the benefit of having the recipe passed down from their mom...this is it! Be sure to let the rice "marinade" in the oil and salt otherwise the congee will not have a creamy consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Okay, so I've never made this recipe exactly according to the directions, but I've probably made it 30 times in assorted forms! I use my crock pot and usually have to add another cup and a half of water. Sometimes I add meat of some sort, sometimes peeled ginger and lemon grass, sometimes oyster sauce, sometimes I use chicken broth... We eat it plain sometimes and other times garnish it with hard boiled egg, green onions, cilantro, lime juice, etc. Not sure how authentic it is when I make it, but we like it a lot and it is cheap if you use broth instead of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I have just made this sucessful pork congee for my boyfriend because he caught a cough. We both love it... even w/out the thousand-yrs eggs, I put some dry oyster is still very gooood... thank you for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
Ok, i admit... i'm rating before trying.. but i wanted to say thank you for this recipe. I love congee and had it for breakfast alot while in china and hong kong. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARGOKIDD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This recipe is really an original and authentic recipe!! Many have posted comments about the hundred year old egg, the smell and etc. If you want the full ethnic taste, you must use the 100 yr old egg. If you are skeptical, just cut the egg up very very small and add it to the congee. This recipe is a must try!!! Also, if you're into spicy, I would recommend using an ASIAN sweet chile sauce. Put it on when you're ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Just a comment.. the hundred year old egg can be found at your local asian/oriental store. It's an acquired taste, for sure - I personally love it, but the smell that comes from it may deter some people =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ink

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Since moving away from home, I've been craving this... The egg is definitely an acquired taste, and its name doesn't make it easier either... My local Asian supermarket is 20+ miles away, so I cooked it a couple times without the egg. Its not as good, but still acceptable. Maybe there are other Congee recipes to come??? Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
pretty authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States