Cantonese Lean Pork Congee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
We first tried congee in NYC's Chinatown and my husband wanted me to make some at home. He loved this recipe, but I just used regular eggs. I could have used the aged eggs, but my husband didn't like the idea. Anyway, he loved it without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alvin, Texas, USA
Living In: Murphy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I think the issue people are having with the water-rice ratio is the result of the author using a different definition of a "cup" of rice. Chinese people use the little cup that comes with a rice cooker to measure rice, roughly pronounced as "muk" and is maybe half (or even less) than a standard measurement cup. Congee is generally made with a water to rice ratio of around 10:1. possibly greater. This recipe implies 5:1 which is far too little water. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Empenguin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Since moving away from home, I've been craving this... The egg is definitely an acquired taste, and its name doesn't make it easier either... My local Asian supermarket is 20+ miles away, so I cooked it a couple times without the egg. Its not as good, but still acceptable. Maybe there are other Congee recipes to come??? Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This recipe is really an original and authentic recipe!! Many have posted comments about the hundred year old egg, the smell and etc. If you want the full ethnic taste, you must use the 100 yr old egg. If you are skeptical, just cut the egg up very very small and add it to the congee. This recipe is a must try!!! Also, if you're into spicy, I would recommend using an ASIAN sweet chile sauce. Put it on when you're ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
pretty authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Okay, so I've never made this recipe exactly according to the directions, but I've probably made it 30 times in assorted forms! I use my crock pot and usually have to add another cup and a half of water. Sometimes I add meat of some sort, sometimes peeled ginger and lemon grass, sometimes oyster sauce, sometimes I use chicken broth... We eat it plain sometimes and other times garnish it with hard boiled egg, green onions, cilantro, lime juice, etc. Not sure how authentic it is when I make it, but we like it a lot and it is cheap if you use broth instead of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Am rating this as the best, even though I changed the ingredients and quantities a bit, since I didn't have all the stuff and wanted to cook something different. I used fish (tilapia) and unpolished brown rice, which is what I had handy, and it still turned out a winner. For this type of rice, it's better to use a bit more water; instead of 2.5 cups as called for 2 servings, I used 4 cups, since the brown rice needs to take in more water to get that congee texture. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arleneteng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baguio City, Benguet, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Just a comment.. the hundred year old egg can be found at your local asian/oriental store. It's an acquired taste, for sure - I personally love it, but the smell that comes from it may deter some people =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ink

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I have just made this sucessful pork congee for my boyfriend because he caught a cough. We both love it... even w/out the thousand-yrs eggs, I put some dry oyster is still very gooood... thank you for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
Ok, i admit... i'm rating before trying.. but i wanted to say thank you for this recipe. I love congee and had it for breakfast alot while in china and hong kong. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARGOKIDD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States