Cantaloupe Sherbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
The flavor was fine but even with processing it twice, it ended up very icy and hard to scoop after a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetadharmony

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
It was ok. It is not very sweet; next time I would add more sugar. Easy to make, although it takes time to freeze. I recommend putting the slush into the containers you plan to serve it in (ie. portion sized) during the 2nd phase of pureeing, as it will be much more presentable. If you stick with the 9x13 dish, you can also cut into squares to serve - it's easy to cut & serve immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
We used soy milk in place of the fat-free and this was a very good sherbet. Be sure to double-freeze it as you really need that 2nd time in the blender or food processor to make it creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pesco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
What a refreshing recipe! It wasn't overbearingly sweet like I had expected it to be, and the cantaloupe flavour would have set it off anyways. A definite luncheon hit, will be making this one again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I really want to give this recipe a good rating because it tastes fantastic. But I'm having a big problem with the texture. It's "snowy" and crumbly. The only changes I made were to use 2% milk and use my ice cream maker so I could skip the double freezing step - and I think both of those changes should have made this creamier if it was going to do anything at all. So I don't get it, but I want to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I was looking for a way to use up some overripe canteloupe and this was it! Our 17 yr old son is doing a low carb plan, so I used Splenda instead of sugar. And as others suggested, I used honey instead of corn syrup. It was really good- a nice change of pace!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I took someone else's advice and substituted honey for the corn syrup. The honey and cantaloupe turned out to be a great combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Used 1/2 cantaloupe & 1/2 peaches, soy milk instead of the regular, and honey instead of the corn syrup. This carries the taste of the cantaloupe. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Don't eat to fast or you will get a "Brain Freeze". This was also good with some granola and honey drizzled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States