Cantaloupe Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
This was a wonderful salad. I sprinkled the bacon and onions on each plate so any leftover wouldn't get soggy. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
I was not sure about this recipe with the onions, but decided to give it a try and am I glad. It was GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I make this all the time in the summer - everyone loves it. We're vegetarian, so I use vegetarian strips (Stripples or Morningstar Farm breakfast strips - put them in the oven until they're crispy, but watch that they don't burn) instead of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
This is a terrific salad! Easy to make and yummy. I really like the combination of sweet and savoury tastes. I think prosciutto would be nice instead of the bacon when you don't feel like frying. In my small town I had trouble finding poppy seed dressing. I eventually found one by Renee's, which was good. The only other offering was Kraft Creamy Poppyseed, which looked a bit too creamy for this. I'd be interested to know what other people used. Great recipe Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Certainly not something that I would have thought of myself, but the sweet, salty and savory flavors really do work! I used a raspberry dressing for this and it was delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
Interesting twist on a fruit salad - it's kind of like prosciutto and melon (which is very good!). I liked this but opted to omit the bacon and reduced the amount of dressing - I used 2-3T and it was plenty. As I suspected the bananas didn't hold up and I would probably leave those out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
Maybe I am not a poppy seed dressing lover. It all sounded good but the dressing made everything "slimey" with a "I don't like this taste" flavor. Bacon, onions and cantaloupes were great together, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
Not a good recipe. Enough said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States