Cantaloupe Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
Maybe I am not a poppy seed dressing lover. It all sounded good but the dressing made everything "slimey" with a "I don't like this taste" flavor. Bacon, onions and cantaloupes were great together, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
This was a wonderful salad. I sprinkled the bacon and onions on each plate so any leftover wouldn't get soggy. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
This is a terrific salad! Easy to make and yummy. I really like the combination of sweet and savoury tastes. I think prosciutto would be nice instead of the bacon when you don't feel like frying. In my small town I had trouble finding poppy seed dressing. I eventually found one by Renee's, which was good. The only other offering was Kraft Creamy Poppyseed, which looked a bit too creamy for this. I'd be interested to know what other people used. Great recipe Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
Interesting twist on a fruit salad - it's kind of like prosciutto and melon (which is very good!). I liked this but opted to omit the bacon and reduced the amount of dressing - I used 2-3T and it was plenty. As I suspected the bananas didn't hold up and I would probably leave those out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
I was not sure about this recipe with the onions, but decided to give it a try and am I glad. It was GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
Not a good recipe. Enough said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Certainly not something that I would have thought of myself, but the sweet, salty and savory flavors really do work! I used a raspberry dressing for this and it was delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I make this all the time in the summer - everyone loves it. We're vegetarian, so I use vegetarian strips (Stripples or Morningstar Farm breakfast strips - put them in the oven until they're crispy, but watch that they don't burn) instead of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States