Cantaloupe Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
This was the first pie that I have ever made. I was looking for something different, and this was great! It sounds a little odd to use cantaloupe in a pie like this, but everyone loved it and begged for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
This is best when the cantaloupe is a little too ripe. A friend of mine calls it Rotten Pie because I told him that I use cantaloupes that are too ripe to slice and would normally be thrown away! It's also good without the meringue since it's so sweet. I've done it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I am giving this one four stars because it did not set up well at all! Soupy! Fortunately, my family is not very picky and was willing to try it. Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This was good but it is very unusual. It would not be my first choice of pies to make but if I had extra melon I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I would give it 4.5 if I could. I omitted the sugar because I used a sweet melon and used 1 tsp cornstarch to add to thickness. I also used 2 tsp amaretto instead of butter extract. It is good. I agree with Marie C. that I will happily make it again if I have extra melon, but won't go out of my way to buy melon to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ASK-Valerio
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This recipe was great, I didn't tell my husband what kind of pie it was and had him guess, he thought it was banana! I added a couple dashes of ground cloves and a dash of ground nutmeg, and followed the suggestion to use cornstarch to thicken the filling-(Dissolve the cornstarch in small amount of water then add to filling while on stove)My cantaloupe was very ripe(had dents on the skin) so I suggest you use a little less sugar if your's is also and less sugar on the merengue as well. Let the filling thicken on stove considerably before you place in the baked pie crust. After the pie cooled I refridgerated it then served it chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
My husband just had some dental work done so I just made the filling. This is a really great pudding!! I didn't have butter extract so I used vanilla instead. It turned out fantastic. This would be a great way to get young children who think they don't like cantaloupe to try it. I think it would change their mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
My Mother in Law was making this 50+ years ago without the pie crust. She couldn't remember the recipe so I found it here. This is the most Awesome Pie Ever. I do leave out the butter extract, but only because I didn't have any. And I don't use a pie crust. This is as close to hers as I have found. Be sure to use a great tasting Ripe cantaloupe. Just Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Very good. I would do as another user suggested and use as ripe a cantaloupe as possible. I made some alterations in order to make it slightly healthier. I used whole wheat pastry flour and used Splenda in the filling (not the meringue) to cut down the sugar. I used just slightly over 1/4 cup of Splenda and it was fine. In addition, I used vanilla instead of butter flavoring and that worked well. Last, I used a graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
The pie works okay, I just really didn't like it. I don't think cantaloupe lends itself well to this use. The pie will get eaten, but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States