Cantaloupe Frenzy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I came to All Recipes because I was looking for something to do with the under-ripe cantaloupe I inadvertently cut too soon and decided to use this recipe as a starting point. To my VitaMix Blender I added one peeled & quartered orange, one 6 oz container of plain Chobani Greek yogurt, three heaping tablespoons of sugar, a generous (unmeasured) dash of vanilla and gradually added the entire under-ripe cantaloupe that had been cut into chunks. Blended on low, then gradually increased speed to high, blending until mostly smooth. Tasted remarkably similar to a Creamsicle popsicle but wasn't quite cold enough (VitaMix tends to do that due to its high velocity). Poured the mixture into 2 1-quart mason jars & chilled it until after dinner - maybe two hours - and it was a huge success. Normally I wouldn't have used sugar but the mellon's under-ripeness required it. Otherwise it would be a health-conscious treat that tastes like a cheat treat. I will definitely make it again & will serve it to guests at our next function.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anngellica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
My god, it is to die for!!! I was looking through smoothies as I just gotten a new blender from a family member, and since I'm pregnant, I crave smoothies galore! I stumbled across this and realized I still had half a cantelope that I needed to use up. I made it at 10:15 pm, and let me you tell this, it is so cold, chilled, and 100% delicious! I will deft. be making more of this! THanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shywolf82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
So refreshing, I threw my cut up cantaloupe and an ice cube into my bullet and used a little agave nectar instead of sugar, Perfect! We had already had half of the cantaloupe earlier in the week so this was a perfect little treat to use up the rest of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Awesome!! I also made a batch with honeydew instead as I didn't have cantalope and added 6oz vanilla yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Used our fresh from the garden cantaloupes and followed the recipe exactly. Wonderful and so refreshing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Excellent drink for those living in North Texas during the summer. Chill it a bit after mixing it and it's bliss in a glass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefScharny
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I didn't think there was really anything special about this recipe.... my family thought it was kinda kinda just drinking a cantaloupe kind of like baby food.... if I ever make this again I will try adding some sprite or maybe some strawberries or banana or other fruit... as is though I think I would rather just eat the canaloupe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I had an overripe cantaloupe and figured this recipe was worth a try. I made only a small portion, but will definitely finish up the rest of the cantaloupe using this recipe. I added a small amount of lemon juice, but may try some of the other reviewer's suggestions. I wonder if it would freeze well!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I'm another one who doesn't really care for cantaloupe but made this way made it easy to drink and kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I normally don't like eating cantaloupe but this drink makes it so refreshing and delicious! This would be a good summer refreshment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eversoangus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States