Cantaloupe Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I am not a big fan of cantaloupe. I had some leftover after making a fruit bouquet for a party. This was really good. It did not taste like cantaloupe was in it. It had more of a peach crisp taste. One thing I would do different is the amout of sugar. It was a bit too sweet for me. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I had a few small rather bland cantaloupes from our garden to use up and this worked well. I cut them into small slices instead of cubes and used a little less than the 1/2 c sugar. In making this again I would certainly use less melted butter on top-maybe half?. The cantaloupe taste was well disguised (my husband guessed peach first) but not entirely absent, and the texture/appearance was quite nice. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amsterdam, New York, USA
Living In: Cobleskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
A delicous recipe fit for a royal family!although many normal familys can taste the greatness of being a queen!or even a king!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This is so freakin' amazing! I was skeptical at first, but it just came out of the oven, and oh my!! It is on the (very) sweet side and as others have stated, does taste like peach cobbler. Would be great with cool whip or ice cream. Can't wait for the hubby to get home and try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyNewt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
After finding myself with large very ripe cantelopes, I needed to find a recipe that would use some of it up. I came across this recipe, made it, and took it to a family function. Everyone loved it but they all guessed that it was peaches. Lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
1/3 cup lemon juice sounded like WAY too much to me, so I only used 2 tbsp. An entire cake mix sounded insane, so I used about 1/4 of an orange cake mix on top. I only used 1/2 stick lite butter total (1tbsp went in cantaloupe mix, the rest on top of cake mix). I used 1/3 c splenda and just a spoonful of sugar and it was plenty sweet enough. The flavor was amazingly better than I expected, and I agree that it was kind of like a peach cobbler. Disguised the cantaloupe good enough which is what I was looking for because I was tired of eating cantaloupe. The top didn't get crunchy at all though. Next time, I would add some oatmeal to the topping, maybe some nuts, and maybe a different kind of cake mix as orange was a bit too articially sweet. This was a unique recipe and could be tweaked to be really good I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This was quite good and Idon't like cantalope. A good way to use leftover melon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
Cantaloupe just doesn't taste good baked, peaches might be better in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
So yummy, my family loves this as much as peach cobbler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Can I give this more stars, PLEASE???? Followed the recipe exactly - it was done 15 minutes ahead of schedule, but that just might be my oven. Tastes like peach or apricot - you'd never guess it was cantaloupe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States