Cantaloupe Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
A delicous recipe fit for a royal family!although many normal familys can taste the greatness of being a queen!or even a king!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
Cantaloupe just doesn't taste good baked, peaches might be better in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I am not a big fan of cantaloupe. I had some leftover after making a fruit bouquet for a party. This was really good. It did not taste like cantaloupe was in it. It had more of a peach crisp taste. One thing I would do different is the amout of sugar. It was a bit too sweet for me. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I had a few small rather bland cantaloupes from our garden to use up and this worked well. I cut them into small slices instead of cubes and used a little less than the 1/2 c sugar. In making this again I would certainly use less melted butter on top-maybe half?. The cantaloupe taste was well disguised (my husband guessed peach first) but not entirely absent, and the texture/appearance was quite nice. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amsterdam, New York, USA
Living In: Cobleskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
1/3 cup lemon juice sounded like WAY too much to me, so I only used 2 tbsp. An entire cake mix sounded insane, so I used about 1/4 of an orange cake mix on top. I only used 1/2 stick lite butter total (1tbsp went in cantaloupe mix, the rest on top of cake mix). I used 1/3 c splenda and just a spoonful of sugar and it was plenty sweet enough. The flavor was amazingly better than I expected, and I agree that it was kind of like a peach cobbler. Disguised the cantaloupe good enough which is what I was looking for because I was tired of eating cantaloupe. The top didn't get crunchy at all though. Next time, I would add some oatmeal to the topping, maybe some nuts, and maybe a different kind of cake mix as orange was a bit too articially sweet. This was a unique recipe and could be tweaked to be really good I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by **Trinity**
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This is a delicious recipe! I followed it EXACTLY as written, using the exact amounts of ingredients called for, and I was totally pleased. Will definitely make again... perfect for leftover cantaloupe! My family (including kids) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by **Trinity**

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Suprisingly good! I don't care for cantaloupe, but I absolutely loved this recipe! I made a 1/2 batch just to try it out. It was so delicious! It does not taste like canteloupe at all! I am making a full bath to bring over to my parents' house for Mother's Day dinner. I am sure it will be a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Only had 2 lemons so I didn't have a full 1/3 cup juice. Also, hubbie is a diabetic so I used 1/4 c turbinado sugar for the full cup sugar. I also only used 1/2 of a yellow cake mix. We really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
With a little tweaking this recipe could be great! It was waaay too sweet for me. Next time I would add half the butter and sugar and twice the cantaloupe. The crunchy topping was really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Not a huge cantaloupe fan, but this is awesome! Had 2 over ripe cantaloupes about ready to toss, so I thought I would try this... The household was very happy about this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States