Cantaloupe Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Not a huge cantaloupe fan, but this is awesome! Had 2 over ripe cantaloupes about ready to toss, so I thought I would try this... The household was very happy about this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
With a little tweaking this recipe could be great! It was waaay too sweet for me. Next time I would add half the butter and sugar and twice the cantaloupe. The crunchy topping was really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Only had 2 lemons so I didn't have a full 1/3 cup juice. Also, hubbie is a diabetic so I used 1/4 c turbinado sugar for the full cup sugar. I also only used 1/2 of a yellow cake mix. We really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Suprisingly good! I don't care for cantaloupe, but I absolutely loved this recipe! I made a 1/2 batch just to try it out. It was so delicious! It does not taste like canteloupe at all! I am making a full bath to bring over to my parents' house for Mother's Day dinner. I am sure it will be a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by **Trinity**
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This is a delicious recipe! I followed it EXACTLY as written, using the exact amounts of ingredients called for, and I was totally pleased. Will definitely make again... perfect for leftover cantaloupe! My family (including kids) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by **Trinity**

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
1/3 cup lemon juice sounded like WAY too much to me, so I only used 2 tbsp. An entire cake mix sounded insane, so I used about 1/4 of an orange cake mix on top. I only used 1/2 stick lite butter total (1tbsp went in cantaloupe mix, the rest on top of cake mix). I used 1/3 c splenda and just a spoonful of sugar and it was plenty sweet enough. The flavor was amazingly better than I expected, and I agree that it was kind of like a peach cobbler. Disguised the cantaloupe good enough which is what I was looking for because I was tired of eating cantaloupe. The top didn't get crunchy at all though. Next time, I would add some oatmeal to the topping, maybe some nuts, and maybe a different kind of cake mix as orange was a bit too articially sweet. This was a unique recipe and could be tweaked to be really good I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I had a few small rather bland cantaloupes from our garden to use up and this worked well. I cut them into small slices instead of cubes and used a little less than the 1/2 c sugar. In making this again I would certainly use less melted butter on top-maybe half?. The cantaloupe taste was well disguised (my husband guessed peach first) but not entirely absent, and the texture/appearance was quite nice. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amsterdam, New York, USA
Living In: Cobleskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I am not a big fan of cantaloupe. I had some leftover after making a fruit bouquet for a party. This was really good. It did not taste like cantaloupe was in it. It had more of a peach crisp taste. One thing I would do different is the amout of sugar. It was a bit too sweet for me. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
Cantaloupe just doesn't taste good baked, peaches might be better in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
A delicous recipe fit for a royal family!although many normal familys can taste the greatness of being a queen!or even a king!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States