Cantaloupe Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
The reviews are correct...it's definitely hard to tell this was cantaloupe as there was no melon flavor...at all. Good thing in my book. Make sure you taste your melon and adjust your sugar amount...I did not add any extra sugar since my melon was naturally sweet and with the cake mix it was really still too sweet for my liking. Everyone who tired this raved. I won't use this recipe again but it has inspired me to create my own without using a box mix so I can control the sweetness. Another suggestion, make sure your melted butter covers the entire cake mix top or you will have powdery spots. Maybe use more than 1/2 cup melted butter or spread it out with a spatula after you drizzle it over the top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGBAUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Phenix City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This was good, but I did some altering after reading reviews: cut the sugar to 1/3 c. and the cake mix to 1/2 a box [used Jiffy yellow cake, 9 oz]. It was still VERY sweet. Also, I cut the topping butter to 1/4 c. I added 1 c. more melon, 1 more Tbs. of lemon, and 2 more Tbs. w.w. flour. I'm glad I did, as there would have been very little runny fruit and mostly cake mix topping. At first it had a faint peach flavor. The next day it did not, but was still tasty. Hubby, who dislikes cantaloupe, didn't like it. But he was prejudiced ahead of time knowing cantaloupe was in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
We couldn't get past the smell of it cooking. Tried it when it was finished and all you could taste was the cake mix no flavour with the cantaloup. VERY disappointing Next time I will try peaches and only 1/2 the box of cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I wanted to use my ripe cantaloupe and made this as well as the Cantaloupe Bread with Praline Glaze from this site. No one could tell that cantaloupe was the fruit--the seasonings over powered the fruit. Many thought it was a peach cobbler. In the end, I was asked to make the Cantaloupe Bread with Praline Glaze again but not this...sorry. It was edible but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
So yummy, my family loves this as much as peach cobbler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Can I give this more stars, PLEASE???? Followed the recipe exactly - it was done 15 minutes ahead of schedule, but that just might be my oven. Tastes like peach or apricot - you'd never guess it was cantaloupe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
My Husband does not generally like cantaloupe, which is why I tried this recipe. I wanted to find a way to eat the melon we had without just eating it plain. When my husband started eating this tonight he said, "This is the best way to eat Cantaloupe in the history of the Americas!" he loved it! Only changes I made to the recipe were use more cantaloupe, and I didn't put the 2T butter in the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This is so freakin' amazing! I was skeptical at first, but it just came out of the oven, and oh my!! It is on the (very) sweet side and as others have stated, does taste like peach cobbler. Would be great with cool whip or ice cream. Can't wait for the hubby to get home and try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyNewt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Amazing flavor and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Wow... this is so good! I was skeptical, first about baking cantaloupe, and then about adding cinnamon and nutmeg to cantaloupe. But I was very pleasantly surprised, and will be making this many more times! Made as written, except I used Splenda on the cantaloupe, and then only used about half of the cake mix on the top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States