Cantaloupe Bread with Praline Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2001
My husband says this is the best thing he has ever put in his mouth! Everyone who tastes this recipe loves it! Do not reduce this recipe. When you try it, you will wish you had made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
This bread was great and really moist. I was apprehensive to make because of the odd use of cantaloupe, but I was so glad that I did. It was excellent. I did as another suggested and just added the pecans to the batter and skipped making the glaze. I made mini loaves of this bread for a bake sale at work and everyone who bought it loved it. I even surprised my husband, who hates cantaloupe, but loved the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
This was a wonderful moist bread that kept well for days. I was really surprised that it didn't taste like cantaloupe. Not weird at all. It was wonderful and my family loved it. I mixed the nuts in the bread as someone else suggested and instead of the icing on top and put a brown sugar and water glaze. That turned out great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
I was searching for a recipe to use up some canteloupe. Came across this one and although it sounded weird, I gave it a try. I made half of the recipe - just in case. I went with some of the other suggestions and left out the glaze, adding walnuts to the batter. What a pleasant surprise! Didn't tell my fiancee what it was until I got the thumbs up. He was surprised but ate it up! Now I wish I had made the whole recipe! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Regional Municipality Of Niagara, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
My fiance sprung this on me one night last summer. Tasted pretty fine, though I wasent to pleased with the ingrediants (I prefer meat, even in my cakes; cantaloupe takes some getting used to). Overall a big thumbs up. Ill get her to make it again for me! Was great while watching the hockey game.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
I was skeptical when I saw the recipes, but the with bumper crop of cantaloupe this year, I had to try something new. I was so excited when it came out so moist and delicious. You can't even tell there is cantaloupe in it. I did put the nuts in the bread as suggested by others and omitted the praline topping. Also, I subsituted half of the sugar with Splenda. You can't even tell the difference. I may substitute more of the sugar next time and substitute half of the white flour for wheat flour so my diabetic father can enjoy. Thank you SO much for sharing this recipe. Definitely the find of the season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
Awesome recipe.I make a lot of different breads,and this is surely a keeper.Couldn't decide if I wanted to try the topping or not,so did a loaf each way.The topping was kind of hard (maybe because i halfed the recipe and cooked for same length of time in microwave?)It still tasted good though but was kind of hard to cut the bread.All in all ,a winner either way.The kids loved the sweetness of the praline topping.Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
I had a cantaloupe to use up and this was a perfect recipe. I would not change anything. I did not make the pecan topping and it was great without it. I will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
Excellent - rave reviews from my husbands co-workers - Made it in a BUNDT pan (cook time still 1 hr) and used Whole Wheat flour and Splenda (instead of sugar, used 2 cups, may try a little less next time). A bit more nutritious/lower carb and the folks love it. Did not use glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
YUM! This was really good. My 1 year old got a taste and now he squeals at me when I open the bread bag, he loves it! My husband- who is pretty sick of homemade bread at this point- is eating it up. I didn't use the glaze,reduced the sugar by 1/2 cup, replaced 1/2c. of oil with applesauce. Very sweet bread with a hint of cantaloupe aftertaste, nice! Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States