Cantaloupe Bread with Praline Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This bread is very moist and has a nice cripsy/sweet crust... without the glaze. Instead of using 1 cup of oil, I used an additional cup of cantaloupe. For all my sweet baking, I always substitute applesauce for oil. Now I know I can use cantaloupe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
*Review just for bread, not for glaze* I made a few changes to this bread to make it healthy but oh. my. word. It was SSSOOOO good! Some of the reviewers said that there was no cantelopue taste, but that's because the excessive amount of sugar was drowning it out. So I just used 3/4 cup of sugar. It was sweet enough and the canteloupe taste really came through. Just make sure you use VERY ripe canteloupe, mine was so soft I was scooping it out of the rind with a spoon. Instead of the 1 cup of oil, I used just 2 tablespoons of oil but compensated for the liquid by adding 1/2 cup extra cantaloupe puree, 1/4 cup applesauce and 2 tablespoons honey. I also cut out an egg and used just 2. Lastly, I added 1/2 cup raisins to the batter and they just took the bread over the top. I also made this as four mini loaves. The bread came out so moist and fruity...NO ONE could stop raving about it! Thanks so much Linda K! This is a keeper and I made it healthy too so there's no reason not to make it again...and again...and again...:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
This bread was great and really moist. I was apprehensive to make because of the odd use of cantaloupe, but I was so glad that I did. It was excellent. I did as another suggested and just added the pecans to the batter and skipped making the glaze. I made mini loaves of this bread for a bake sale at work and everyone who bought it loved it. I even surprised my husband, who hates cantaloupe, but loved the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
i did not like the results, but my husband and co workers did. there wasn't any "cantelope taste" it was more like pumpkin bread. if i make again i will leave off the praline glaze and put the nuts in the bread itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
giving this an extra star for a great way to use up cantaloupe, and I like the fact that as you stated, Linda, it can be pureed and frozen for later use. My cantaloupe was very sweet and ripe and with 2 cups sugar, I didn't do the glaze. The cataloupe taste is mild. Omitted cinnamon from the batter and instead sprinkled a cinnamon/sugar mixture into my sprayed pans before adding the batter. only 1 tsp. of vanilla and added orange blossom water instead, as I have found that this enhances the flavor of cataloupe. Used 3/4 applesauce and 1/4 oil and it is very moist. Added the zest of one lime to the batter to give it a little more zing. this made 2 nice loaves and I also made a small muffin to sample and review. Easy recipe to throw together. Next time I might add 1/4 tsp. more of salt to help enhance the cataloupe flavor. It was nice to get an occasional small sliver of cataloupe. I think I might puree 1 cup and leave one more cup of it a bit on the chunkier side. Thanks for the great, easy, waste-not, want-not recipe, Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
This is a copy of Marlen's cantaloupe bread recipe she has shared several times but never with the praline topping. That doesn't go with this bread at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2001
My husband says this is the best thing he has ever put in his mouth! Everyone who tastes this recipe loves it! Do not reduce this recipe. When you try it, you will wish you had made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
It turned out sooo well. my hubby loved it. it was soooo moist..and the cinnamon blended very well with it. i will definately make it again. it is very sweet without the glaze...so i am glad that i didn't add it. next time i would put the nuts inside. i didn't use nuts this time..i didn't have any. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicia Manocchio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2001
I was very nervous about trying this recipie. But i'm very glad I did. It is very moist and delicious. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
You can't even taste the cantelpoe. It just make really moist great bread. I added the nuts to the batter per another review and it was fantastic. You turned four sceptics into fans! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States