Cantaloupe Bread with Praline Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I would have given this five stars but the glaze was just too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Awesome bread! Who knew that cantaloupe bread would be good? And who knew that there was such a thing as cantaloupe bread!!! I did what one of the others suggested and used 1/4 c. oil and 3/4 c. applesauce. Didn't notice a difference at all. In fact, next time I think I'll use all applesauce. I also used egg beaters instead of eggs and that turned out fine as well. Thanks for the recipe. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Hmmm...not sure about the flavor...yet. It's not that I don't like it but I'm not sure if I do either. Putting some butter on a slice, it was good. I think it needs more spice to it or be sweeter..not sure. I'll tweek the recipe the next time and spice it up a bit to my likings. It IS a very moist bread. I will definitely try again because it seems that,like bananas, I always have some cantaloupe that I need to use up every now and then and this is such a good idea. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
WITH SOME EXCEPTIONS TO INSTURCTIONS THIS IS WAY FAR BETTER THAN ANY BREAD I HAVE MADE. I CAME FACE TO FACE WITH 200+ CANTALOUPE AND HAD TO DO SOMETHING. TO CHANGE THE RECIPE-1. I SKIPPED THE GLAZE AND PUT THE NUTS IN THE BREAD. 2. I PUT WAX PAPER IN THE BOTTOM SO IT WOULD COME OUT MORE EASILY. OTHER THAN THAT, IT'S GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Bread liked by adults and children. Did not do praline glaze and reduced sugar by 25%. I have made the recipe twice and will make again. Perfect way to use up those not quite ripe cantaloupes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
this bread was soooo good. My boyfriend, toddler, and I went through a whole loaf just for breakfast. It is unbelievably moist, kinda like cake. I put melted Smartbalance and brown sugar on top, but didn't have any nuts so i left those out. I strongly dislike canteloupe, but I LOVED this. My neighbor and coworker tried it also, and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This is a good tasting bread. Don't expect to taste cantaloupe in every bite - it taste like every other sweet bread. However, the cantaloupe makes it incredibly moist and the spices give this bread an extra kick and a great taste. I didn't give it 5 stars because I didn't like the glaze. The bread taste great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This is really good! My husband brought home a ton of cantaloupe, and I can only eat so much of it! I did not make the glaze for this, but followed the rest as written. It is a great way to use up cantaloupe if you need to, but I wouldn't go out and buy it just for this recipe. Also, I think the fruit needs to be very ripe for this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Very happily surprised that this turned out so yummy! My son requests it everyday for his snack at school... so I made extra and watched it disappear all week! I did add a little more ginger and cinnamon and also a bit of nutmeg, the second time making it to spice it up a little! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FoodieGeek
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I stumbled upon this recipe while looking for something to use up some cantaloupe. I have to say I was skeptical at first. I had never heard of making bread w/ cantaloupe before, but I'm so glad I tried. It is surprisingly good. I didn't make the glaze, and I don't think it really needs it. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States