Cantaloupe Bread with Praline Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This is really good! My husband brought home a ton of cantaloupe, and I can only eat so much of it! I did not make the glaze for this, but followed the rest as written. It is a great way to use up cantaloupe if you need to, but I wouldn't go out and buy it just for this recipe. Also, I think the fruit needs to be very ripe for this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Very happily surprised that this turned out so yummy! My son requests it everyday for his snack at school... so I made extra and watched it disappear all week! I did add a little more ginger and cinnamon and also a bit of nutmeg, the second time making it to spice it up a little! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FoodieGeek
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I stumbled upon this recipe while looking for something to use up some cantaloupe. I have to say I was skeptical at first. I had never heard of making bread w/ cantaloupe before, but I'm so glad I tried. It is surprisingly good. I didn't make the glaze, and I don't think it really needs it. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This bread was delicious and it was a HUGE HIT at the "Big Football Game With A Copyrighted Name" party I went to. I'm not a fan of cantaloupe, but I love this. I modified the recipe a bit to make it lower calorie and a little healthier. Here's The ingredient list I used: - 2 eggs - 2 egg whites - 1/4 C vegetable oil - 3/4 C unsweetened applesauce - 1 C Sugar - 1 C splenda - 2 C bread flour - 1 C Whole Wheat Pastry Flour - rest of the ingredients as written Instead of the glaze, I mixed some white sugar and powdered sugar and dusted it on the top while the bread was still a little warm. The bread froze well, too. will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I happily sliced into a cantaloupe, and popped a chunk in my mouth. Turned out to be the most miserable, unripened melon ever! So I made this bread. I haven't topped it yet, but it is delicious as it is. It is moist and tasty and I would have otherwise thrown out the melon:) My modifications were to use 3/4 cup Smart Balance spread, (slightly softened) and only 1/4 cup oil. Because of the lack of sweetness in the cantaloupe I increased the sugar about 1/3 cup. I toned the ginger down to 1/4t. I am thrilled with the result. It's a do-over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This bread has great texture...nice crispy top and moist inside. Only problem is there pretty much is very little flavor. I skipped the glaze on top and put nuts in the batter, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I wonder what it would taste like if you replaced all the oil with more pureed cantaloupe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
yummy! i made this using splenda instead of white sugar for the bread. and i used cinnamon applesauce instead of the oil. it's soooo good and made the house smell great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Vinings, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Amazing! Moist and spicy, and a hit with coworkers and kids alike. It doesn't even need the praline glaze. I followed other reviews and reduced the fat: 1/4 c. oil, 1/4 c. applesauce, 1/2 c. extra pureed cantaloupe. I will never worry again about too much or too ripe cantaloupe! It freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnieB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
This was surprisingly good for what it is, although I still prefer banana nut bread. I'd never heard of cantaloupe bread before, but I had some cantaloupe sitting around and thought I'd try it out. I halved the recipe to make one loaf and it came out pretty small using about half the pan. I skipped the glaze, and made the following changes: replaced half the sugar with splenda, replaced half the oil with no sugar added granny smith apple sauce, added 1 tbsp sugar free orange syrup, added pecans to the batter, and a bit of shredded coconut. It really doesn't taste much like cantaloupe and I was glad for that. It's definitely super moist too. I topped my slice with strawberries and a squirt of whipped cream and it was very refreshing. Didn't need the glaze at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This bread is very moist and has a nice cripsy/sweet crust... without the glaze. Instead of using 1 cup of oil, I used an additional cup of cantaloupe. For all my sweet baking, I always substitute applesauce for oil. Now I know I can use cantaloupe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States