Cantaloupe Bread with Praline Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This is a favorite recipe in my household. I would give it 5 stars, but I made it without the glaze, so I can't judge how that qouls affect the recipe. The bread itself is the best quickbread I have ever put into my mouth, and I don't like cantaloupe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I love this bread ... I've made it a couple of times, exactly as written ... I don't understand why everyone is dissing the praline glaze, tho' ... I love it! I'm taking a loaf to my brother's for Thanksgiving--WITH the glaze! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
this bread is moist and firm making it easy to cut and not fall apart. i used a very sweet ripe cantaloupe and recipe spices except no topping and pecans in the bread. it was tasty but lacking in any distinct flavor. it was sweet but rather plain. the cantaloupe merely serves as the ingredient like applesauce that keeps baked goods moist and does not add much if any real flavor. if i make it again, it will be to use up leftover cantaloupe and i will replace half of the white sugar with brown, add raisins and more ginger, and maybe some nutmeg to kick it up a little. all in all, still a fairly good quick bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Wow. I loved these. I used a muffin pan instead and they came out amazing. They ended up tasting like pumpkin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I made this last night without the glaze. We loved it. My cantaloupe was the sweetest I've ever had, so I probably could have cut the sugar, but this is definite winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
We loved this! Who would have thought you could make bread out of cantaloupe? Well, I guess there IS zucchini bread! I did change a few things. We did not like the praline glaze, in fact we scraped it off, so did the kids. The second time I made it I added more nutmeg, about 3/4 of a teaspoon more and a little more ginger. The original recipe calls for two bread pans, but I found the loaves to be a bit short. So the second time I doubled the recipe put it in three pans. Excellent! Good thing I had a bumper crop of cantaloupe, I've been freezing it all week so we can have this yummy bread all winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSMAC8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Saint Marys, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Have made this with cantaloupe, peaches and pears. All are wounderful. Everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This is a wonderful bread. Everyone has just loved it. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This bread was surprisingly good. I had a cantaloupe left over before heading out on holiday, so decided to puree it and give this recipe a go when I returned. I followed the advice of several members and did not make the glaze but added the pecans to the recipe. I also left out the oil and replaced it with additional cantaloupe puree. And, for the sugar, I did half sugar, half Splenda. The bread is yummy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I would have given this five stars but the glaze was just too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States