Cantaloupe Bread with Praline Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
*Review just for bread, not for glaze* I made a few changes to this bread to make it healthy but oh. my. word. It was SSSOOOO good! Some of the reviewers said that there was no cantelopue taste, but that's because the excessive amount of sugar was drowning it out. So I just used 3/4 cup of sugar. It was sweet enough and the canteloupe taste really came through. Just make sure you use VERY ripe canteloupe, mine was so soft I was scooping it out of the rind with a spoon. Instead of the 1 cup of oil, I used just 2 tablespoons of oil but compensated for the liquid by adding 1/2 cup extra cantaloupe puree, 1/4 cup applesauce and 2 tablespoons honey. I also cut out an egg and used just 2. Lastly, I added 1/2 cup raisins to the batter and they just took the bread over the top. I also made this as four mini loaves. The bread came out so moist and fruity...NO ONE could stop raving about it! Thanks so much Linda K! This is a keeper and I made it healthy too so there's no reason not to make it again...and again...and again...:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This was fabulous. They has cantaloupe on sale at 10 vents a pound and I loaded up. I most definitely will make this again. Half the oil and replace with more cantaloupe. Don't skip the glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPOILERDAVE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This is the best bread I've ever made! Had a whole cantaloupe that no one in my family was eating, so I found this recipe and tried it out. Brought it to two events and everyone raved about it. Please take the time to make the glaze...well worth it! However, I did omit the nuts. Also cooked one half in loaf pan and other half as cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
My husband and everyone else thought I was crazy when I said I was making canteloupe bread...but it was amazing!! I have never made the glaze that goes on it, and it is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Wow! Delish! I subed half the oil for an extra half cup of cantaloupe puree because one whole cup kinda sounded gross to me, the sub worked great! I only had one bread pan so the other half of the batter filled 12 muffin cups and the muffins cooked in 30 min. This is a perfect recipee b/c my super-picky family doesn't eat cantaloupe and I love it, so the way I make it uses up about 3/4 of a small cantaloupe which leaves me with a couple fresh slices! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Wonderful!! I was very skeptical to try this recipe but it turned out so yummy!! I also, cut the oil in half and added a bit more cantaloupe. I added a bit of nutmeg and left off the glaze. Defiantly sweet enough for breakfast without it. My 6 year old told me to double the recipe next time. Great recipe, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbmckay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Moist and delicious! Sweet but not too sweet. I don't think the glaze was at all necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I really liked this recipe. I took it to my sister-in-law after she had her baby. They really enjoyed it. The bread kind of tasted like pumpkin bread but you could definitely taste the cantaloupe. I think the glaze on the top made the bread. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I ended up making these into muffins. I got 24 muffins of this batter. Very good flavor-can definately taste the cantaloupe. I used 1/2 of a cantaloupe & pureed it in the blender. I didn't make the glaze but will try it next time for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I halved the recipe and made many of the same healthy substitutions as other reviewers, and it came out pretty well! The only problem (and I may have either mis-measured my baking powder or soda, or it was just the substitutions I made) but the bread didn't rise very much at all. Didn't make the glaze as the bread is sweet enough by itself. Its a great way to use cantaloupe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clairvis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States