Cantaloupe Bread with Praline Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This was fabulous. They has cantaloupe on sale at 10 vents a pound and I loaded up. I most definitely will make this again. Half the oil and replace with more cantaloupe. Don't skip the glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPOILERDAVE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This is the best bread I've ever made! Had a whole cantaloupe that no one in my family was eating, so I found this recipe and tried it out. Brought it to two events and everyone raved about it. Please take the time to make the glaze...well worth it! However, I did omit the nuts. Also cooked one half in loaf pan and other half as cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
My husband and everyone else thought I was crazy when I said I was making canteloupe bread...but it was amazing!! I have never made the glaze that goes on it, and it is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Wow! Delish! I subed half the oil for an extra half cup of cantaloupe puree because one whole cup kinda sounded gross to me, the sub worked great! I only had one bread pan so the other half of the batter filled 12 muffin cups and the muffins cooked in 30 min. This is a perfect recipee b/c my super-picky family doesn't eat cantaloupe and I love it, so the way I make it uses up about 3/4 of a small cantaloupe which leaves me with a couple fresh slices! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Wonderful!! I was very skeptical to try this recipe but it turned out so yummy!! I also, cut the oil in half and added a bit more cantaloupe. I added a bit of nutmeg and left off the glaze. Defiantly sweet enough for breakfast without it. My 6 year old told me to double the recipe next time. Great recipe, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbmckay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Moist and delicious! Sweet but not too sweet. I don't think the glaze was at all necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I really liked this recipe. I took it to my sister-in-law after she had her baby. They really enjoyed it. The bread kind of tasted like pumpkin bread but you could definitely taste the cantaloupe. I think the glaze on the top made the bread. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I ended up making these into muffins. I got 24 muffins of this batter. Very good flavor-can definately taste the cantaloupe. I used 1/2 of a cantaloupe & pureed it in the blender. I didn't make the glaze but will try it next time for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I halved the recipe and made many of the same healthy substitutions as other reviewers, and it came out pretty well! The only problem (and I may have either mis-measured my baking powder or soda, or it was just the substitutions I made) but the bread didn't rise very much at all. Didn't make the glaze as the bread is sweet enough by itself. Its a great way to use cantaloupe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clairvis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Like others I subbed an extra cup of cantaloupe for the oil, 1c whole wheat flour for 1c all purpose flour, used an egg substitute, and used half splenda half sugar. I also added some dried cranberries and a tiny dash of allspice and nutmeg. No glaze. I made them in a muffin tin for about 35 min. They were soooo tasty! This made 18 muffins, each was 148 calories and only .4g fat!!! I made a smaller batch with some added wheat germ too. I'll definitely come back to this recipe if I have leftover cantaloupe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States