Cantaloupe Bread with Praline Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
It was super moist and a good use for a melon that needs to be used but DID NOT taste like melon at all...I rate a recipe by flavor and desire to use it again...so this one gets a 2 and it will not be added to the recipe box. Disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Really good! Not what I expected at all - the kids loved it, it used up the ridiculous amount of cantaloupe I had and I enjoyed it a lot. Great recipe, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I came across this recipe while searching for ways to use up a cantaloupe from the farm market. Well, I had never heard of cantaloupe bread, so I was intrigued. I made one loaf to try it out, using just one egg, which worked out fine. I put all my liquid ingredients in a blender, along with the cantaloupe and sugar (I used half white and half brown) and pureed it until smooth. Then added it to the dry ingredients. I also folded in 1/2 cup of chopped pecans that I had dusted with flour. I baked this at 350 degrees, and it still took about an hour and ten minutes. I did turn the temp down to 325 for the last ten minutes so the edges wouldn’t get too brown. As many other reviewers, I opted to skip the glaze. This was a delightful little quick bread with a nice amount of spice. I wouldn’t hesitate to make it again! Update 8/16/13 - My neighbor made this bread and suggested changing the glaze amounts as follows: 5 T. butter, 2/3 cup brown sugar and the full cup of pecans for two loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
EVERYONE THOUGHT IT WAS PUMPKIN BREAD - which is a good thing since no one has heard of Cantaloupe Bread......until now ~ THEY WANT THE RECIPE & I come from a family that BAKES & knows their stuff ! Made recipe exactly as written (put the eggs/oil/sugar/vanilla & cantaloupe chunks in a blender and it worked great). Did not leave in oven the full hour.......super moist bread - although the loaves were flatter than normal - I would still use the two pans to prevent overflow or a mushy middle. Did not make the Praline Glaze - still PERFECT RECIPE AS WRITTEN !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Barb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Delicious!!! I added only 1/2 cup of brown sugar because cantaloupe is sweet enough and it came out perfect! will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Very good--just has a hint of cantaloupe after you eat a few bites. I didn't make the glaze-- it's a very sweet bread and doesn't need it. (I used 1 c white sugar 1/2 c honey & 1/4 cup raw sugar.) I put about 3/4 c pecans in the bread. Also, I used 2 eggs, 1 T flax and added 3 more T puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
No one would believe me that this is cantaloupe! It was even hard for me to believe, as I absolutely hate cantaloupe!!! Delicious and moist, everyone thought this was banana bread. ;-) This recipe is one of my biggest bragging points - it can make even the biggest cantaloupe-hater a fan!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rikkirogersdesign

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallace, Idaho, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This was great! Because of my son's braces and nut allergies in other students at our parish school I couldn't add the pecans but even so this was a fantastic product. The next loaf will be strictly mine and will include pecans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
You just can’t go wrong with this bread…I found as one review said cut the cinnamon in half that gives the bread it’s on flavor otherwise it taste like banana nut. I also found cutting the oil in half and cutting back on the sugar to 1 ½…I just added more cantaloupe to replace the oil…I tried adding applesauce to one batch to see if the flavor changed …it didn’t…I also used Israel melon to make a batch and with it there is a lighter flavor but still very good…I am putting melon and cantaloupe in the freezer to make more…thanks a lot…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This bread is a wonderful and unique spin on breakfast bread. It smells and looks FANTASTIC! I made 3 mini loaves and 12 muffins because I wanted to try a variety of add-ins. I did one loaf plain, one with walnuts and one with chocolate chips. The small loaf pans only needed 40 minutes in the oven before they were done, so make sure to watch them if you are going to make smaller loaves. However, the smell will wake you up if you forget about them! The muffins were done in 30 minutes, so again- be careful if you adjust the size of the pan! I did not add the glaze as suggested by others, delicious bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States