Cantaloupe Bread with Praline Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I really liked this recipe. I took it to my sister-in-law after she had her baby. They really enjoyed it. The bread kind of tasted like pumpkin bread but you could definitely taste the cantaloupe. I think the glaze on the top made the bread. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I ended up making these into muffins. I got 24 muffins of this batter. Very good flavor-can definately taste the cantaloupe. I used 1/2 of a cantaloupe & pureed it in the blender. I didn't make the glaze but will try it next time for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I halved the recipe and made many of the same healthy substitutions as other reviewers, and it came out pretty well! The only problem (and I may have either mis-measured my baking powder or soda, or it was just the substitutions I made) but the bread didn't rise very much at all. Didn't make the glaze as the bread is sweet enough by itself. Its a great way to use cantaloupe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clairvis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Like others I subbed an extra cup of cantaloupe for the oil, 1c whole wheat flour for 1c all purpose flour, used an egg substitute, and used half splenda half sugar. I also added some dried cranberries and a tiny dash of allspice and nutmeg. No glaze. I made them in a muffin tin for about 35 min. They were soooo tasty! This made 18 muffins, each was 148 calories and only .4g fat!!! I made a smaller batch with some added wheat germ too. I'll definitely come back to this recipe if I have leftover cantaloupe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This was an excellent way to use up some of the cantaloupe we have. I didn't do the glaze, as I had no pecans. Subbed half the oil called for with applesauce, per my husbands request. He said a whole cup of oil was more than he'd like to know was in there! If you like spice breads (pumpkin,apple,pear), try this. It came out moist and we liked the flavor alot. Baked in 2 pans--one a 10x6x4. The other a 9x5x3. The smaller of the two took only 45 minutes to bake. The larger took the full hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Very moist. Unusual flavor. Nice, just different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justadab

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Very good! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Really enjoyed this, used an extra cup of cantaloupe instead of oil. Very moist. Had everyone try it and try to guess, of course no one could figure it out! A great way to use up some extra cantaloupe. Made without the praline glaze and it was plenty sweet. Would prob increase the cinnamon just a bit next time. This will be a regular recipe in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I was shocked at how good these were. Since they were for my kids and I didn't want them to have the extra sugar I skipped the glaze. I also made some other changes for health reasons....used half whole wheat flour, substituted applesauce for the vegetable oil and used honey instead of sugar (converstion is 3/4 c. honey for 1 c. sugar and then lessen 1/4 c. liquid, in this case vegetable oil or applesauce). Also added some ground flax seed. My loaf pan was in use so I made muffins and they were great. No particular flavor stood out but they were an amazing consistency...dense but not crumbly like a lot of muffin. I didn't give them a 5 because the taste wasn't spectacular or anything I'd crave, but I will definitely make these again as they are pretty tasty and a great texture (although not sure if that's from the changes I made or not).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This is a favorite recipe in my household. I would give it 5 stars, but I made it without the glaze, so I can't judge how that qouls affect the recipe. The bread itself is the best quickbread I have ever put into my mouth, and I don't like cantaloupe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States