Cantaloupe Bread with Praline Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I couldn't decide if I liked this bread or not.It was very moist but I just wasn't wild about the flavor.My mom really liked it and said it reminded her of pumpkin bread.I did leave the glaze off because I thought it would make it way too sweet.It was fun to try it but it's just not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
unbelievable!! I was so hesitant about making this recipe- I mean "cantaloupe" in a bread. I am so glad I had second thoughts. Other reviewers were right on saying that it was somewhat like a pumpkin bread. I did cut the sugar in half and added raisins to my batter and it was plenty sweet and absolutely delicious! I also left the glaze out, but this was just amazing. Thanks for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Very good and different. I'd never heard of cantaloupe bread before so I had to try it. I had 1/2 of a smaller melon and got about one cup of puree, so I just made one loaf but used 2 eggs. The glaze didn't need 3 minutes in the microwave, only about 1 1/2. Very, very moist bread. Subtle flavors but I was pretty pleased with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This is by far the best bread my family and I have ever had!!! I've made twice and had nothing but request for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartwell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
The best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beautiful Disaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I made these as mini muffins, cooking them at 350 degrees for 22 minutes. I added the nuts into the batter, also replacing the oil with another cup of cantaloupe. A good use of an abundant crop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
*Review just for bread, not for glaze* I made a few changes to this bread to make it healthy but oh. my. word. It was SSSOOOO good! Some of the reviewers said that there was no cantelopue taste, but that's because the excessive amount of sugar was drowning it out. So I just used 3/4 cup of sugar. It was sweet enough and the canteloupe taste really came through. Just make sure you use VERY ripe canteloupe, mine was so soft I was scooping it out of the rind with a spoon. Instead of the 1 cup of oil, I used just 2 tablespoons of oil but compensated for the liquid by adding 1/2 cup extra cantaloupe puree, 1/4 cup applesauce and 2 tablespoons honey. I also cut out an egg and used just 2. Lastly, I added 1/2 cup raisins to the batter and they just took the bread over the top. I also made this as four mini loaves. The bread came out so moist and fruity...NO ONE could stop raving about it! Thanks so much Linda K! This is a keeper and I made it healthy too so there's no reason not to make it again...and again...and again...:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This was fabulous. They has cantaloupe on sale at 10 vents a pound and I loaded up. I most definitely will make this again. Half the oil and replace with more cantaloupe. Don't skip the glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPOILERDAVE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This is the best bread I've ever made! Had a whole cantaloupe that no one in my family was eating, so I found this recipe and tried it out. Brought it to two events and everyone raved about it. Please take the time to make the glaze...well worth it! However, I did omit the nuts. Also cooked one half in loaf pan and other half as cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
My husband and everyone else thought I was crazy when I said I was making canteloupe bread...but it was amazing!! I have never made the glaze that goes on it, and it is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States