Cantaloupe Bread with Praline Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This was great! Because of my son's braces and nut allergies in other students at our parish school I couldn't add the pecans but even so this was a fantastic product. The next loaf will be strictly mine and will include pecans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
You just can’t go wrong with this bread…I found as one review said cut the cinnamon in half that gives the bread it’s on flavor otherwise it taste like banana nut. I also found cutting the oil in half and cutting back on the sugar to 1 ½…I just added more cantaloupe to replace the oil…I tried adding applesauce to one batch to see if the flavor changed …it didn’t…I also used Israel melon to make a batch and with it there is a lighter flavor but still very good…I am putting melon and cantaloupe in the freezer to make more…thanks a lot…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This bread is a wonderful and unique spin on breakfast bread. It smells and looks FANTASTIC! I made 3 mini loaves and 12 muffins because I wanted to try a variety of add-ins. I did one loaf plain, one with walnuts and one with chocolate chips. The small loaf pans only needed 40 minutes in the oven before they were done, so make sure to watch them if you are going to make smaller loaves. However, the smell will wake you up if you forget about them! The muffins were done in 30 minutes, so again- be careful if you adjust the size of the pan! I did not add the glaze as suggested by others, delicious bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
As strange as this sounds, this may be the best quick bread I've ever made. It comes out moist, dense and tastes amazing. I followed others suggestions and did not make the glaze but otherwise, followed as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I found this way too sweet with the glaze and I cut the sugar by half. I made 24 muffins instead of loaves one batch w/glaze and one without. The batch without the glaze was very good, but still a little sweet for my taste so I would cut the sugar a bit more next time. Great way to use up cantaloupe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Excellent way to use up ripe cantaloupe. I didn't use the glaze because the bread is sweet enough. My friend said it could use some nuts, so next time I will put the nuts is the bread. I swirled a cinnamon sugar swirl through the bread before baking, that is where I will add the nuts as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
like other readers I wasnt sure about this recipe, but I had some cantelope going bad and needed to use it. Boy am I glad I tried this. It was wonderful. Will definitely make this again. i didnt make the glaze though, just the bread by itself was delicious and I dont need the extra sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa J

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I made this with papaya puree, not cantaloupe. I figured they were both melons, and papayas are so inexpensive at the market right now, I wanted another way to use it. I followed other reviewers' suggestions to make this a little more healthy, sub'd applesauce for half the oil, whole wheat flour for half the AP flour, and Splenda for half the sugar. I also didn't make the Praline Glaze, this was sweet enough all by itself. It was a little dense at the bottom of the loaf, so the next time I made it, I doubled my soda and powder and increased my oven temp to 375. Yum! I've even made these as gifts, they're so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
AMAZING! I'm not a huge fan of loaves, but this was so moist and SO tasty! I left out the glaze, but made everything else exactly as it says. Thanks for helping me use up my cantaloupe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Anderson
Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
After reading reviews, I cut oil to 1/2 cup, reduced sugar to 1.5 cups, increased pureed cantaloupe to 2.5 cups, exchanged vanilla extract with lemon extract, added about 1 tsp orange zest, 1 tsp lemon zest and 2 tbsp poppyseeds just for fun. Skipped icing. Bake in bundt pan for about an hour. Really moist cake, interesting taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miccycle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States