Cantaloupe Bread with Praline Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
AMAZING! I'm not a huge fan of loaves, but this was so moist and SO tasty! I left out the glaze, but made everything else exactly as it says. Thanks for helping me use up my cantaloupe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie
Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
After reading reviews, I cut oil to 1/2 cup, reduced sugar to 1.5 cups, increased pureed cantaloupe to 2.5 cups, exchanged vanilla extract with lemon extract, added about 1 tsp orange zest, 1 tsp lemon zest and 2 tbsp poppyseeds just for fun. Skipped icing. Bake in bundt pan for about an hour. Really moist cake, interesting taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miccycle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Our whole family loves this recipe. The most time consuming part is getting the cantaloupe ready. I was able to get 6 cups of puree from one cantaloupe, so I divided and froze what I didn't need. This bread does not taste like cantaloupe - it is more like a spice bread or pumpkin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
VERY moist, and a wonderful solution to having too much cantaloupe on hand or a cantaloupe that's a little too ripe. You can almost not notice the flavor of the cantaloupe in the bread, but it adds a very mild, aromatic flavor that is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
best bread I've made in a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Very refreshing taste and something different for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Great, unique, but will probably lessen the amount of cinnamon next time. That much made it taste too close to banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Easy and tastes great. It is sweet with a subtle flavor of canteloupe. I would make the glaze after the bread comes out of the oven rather than while it is baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Not bad, but not fantastic either. Like others have mentioned it didn't really have any kind of cantaloupey taste, instead it tasted more like a spice bread. Albeit a good spice bread, but I was looking for a cantaloupe flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mad_Batter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Moyock, North Carolina, USA
Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Pretty good. I added extra cantaloupe and didn't use the praline glaze. It was sweet enough without it. The bread is very moist and has a cake-like texture. It reminds me of pumpkin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States