Cantaloupe Bread with Praline Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Delicious!!! I added only 1/2 cup of brown sugar because cantaloupe is sweet enough and it came out perfect! will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Very good--just has a hint of cantaloupe after you eat a few bites. I didn't make the glaze-- it's a very sweet bread and doesn't need it. (I used 1 c white sugar 1/2 c honey & 1/4 cup raw sugar.) I put about 3/4 c pecans in the bread. Also, I used 2 eggs, 1 T flax and added 3 more T puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
No one would believe me that this is cantaloupe! It was even hard for me to believe, as I absolutely hate cantaloupe!!! Delicious and moist, everyone thought this was banana bread. ;-) This recipe is one of my biggest bragging points - it can make even the biggest cantaloupe-hater a fan!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rikkirogersdesign

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallace, Idaho, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This was great! Because of my son's braces and nut allergies in other students at our parish school I couldn't add the pecans but even so this was a fantastic product. The next loaf will be strictly mine and will include pecans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
You just can’t go wrong with this bread…I found as one review said cut the cinnamon in half that gives the bread it’s on flavor otherwise it taste like banana nut. I also found cutting the oil in half and cutting back on the sugar to 1 ½…I just added more cantaloupe to replace the oil…I tried adding applesauce to one batch to see if the flavor changed …it didn’t…I also used Israel melon to make a batch and with it there is a lighter flavor but still very good…I am putting melon and cantaloupe in the freezer to make more…thanks a lot…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This bread is a wonderful and unique spin on breakfast bread. It smells and looks FANTASTIC! I made 3 mini loaves and 12 muffins because I wanted to try a variety of add-ins. I did one loaf plain, one with walnuts and one with chocolate chips. The small loaf pans only needed 40 minutes in the oven before they were done, so make sure to watch them if you are going to make smaller loaves. However, the smell will wake you up if you forget about them! The muffins were done in 30 minutes, so again- be careful if you adjust the size of the pan! I did not add the glaze as suggested by others, delicious bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
As strange as this sounds, this may be the best quick bread I've ever made. It comes out moist, dense and tastes amazing. I followed others suggestions and did not make the glaze but otherwise, followed as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I found this way too sweet with the glaze and I cut the sugar by half. I made 24 muffins instead of loaves one batch w/glaze and one without. The batch without the glaze was very good, but still a little sweet for my taste so I would cut the sugar a bit more next time. Great way to use up cantaloupe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Excellent way to use up ripe cantaloupe. I didn't use the glaze because the bread is sweet enough. My friend said it could use some nuts, so next time I will put the nuts is the bread. I swirled a cinnamon sugar swirl through the bread before baking, that is where I will add the nuts as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
like other readers I wasnt sure about this recipe, but I had some cantelope going bad and needed to use it. Boy am I glad I tried this. It was wonderful. Will definitely make this again. i didnt make the glaze though, just the bread by itself was delicious and I dont need the extra sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa J

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States