Cantaloupe Bread with Praline Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
Excellent bread, even without the praline glaze. Couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linnea Quam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
A nice way to use of end-of-the-summer cantaloupe. I halved the recipe to make one loaf, and even then reduced the oil considerably (you could probably even sub applesauce in place of the oil, or do 1/2 applesauce, 1/2 oil). The glaze on this is really nice and adds an extra crunch. Reminds one of a pumpkin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
A great, very moist recipe. Not much cantaloupe flavor but a really good loaf/muffin. I think it'll be fabulous toasted. My changes: - Reduced the sugar by 1/3 and didn't use the glaze (my cantaloupe was very sweet) - Added a splash of orange juice - Substituted 1/3 of all-purpose flour with whole wheat flour - Replaced half the fat with pureed apples. These changes will create a product that will take longer to cook (>1 hr) but is very moist and flavorful while being lower fat, lower sugar, and higher fiber (usually the death knoll for baked goods). Note: A large cantaloupe makes 3.5x this serving size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
giving this an extra star for a great way to use up cantaloupe, and I like the fact that as you stated, Linda, it can be pureed and frozen for later use. My cantaloupe was very sweet and ripe and with 2 cups sugar, I didn't do the glaze. The cataloupe taste is mild. Omitted cinnamon from the batter and instead sprinkled a cinnamon/sugar mixture into my sprayed pans before adding the batter. only 1 tsp. of vanilla and added orange blossom water instead, as I have found that this enhances the flavor of cataloupe. Used 3/4 applesauce and 1/4 oil and it is very moist. Added the zest of one lime to the batter to give it a little more zing. this made 2 nice loaves and I also made a small muffin to sample and review. Easy recipe to throw together. Next time I might add 1/4 tsp. more of salt to help enhance the cataloupe flavor. It was nice to get an occasional small sliver of cataloupe. I think I might puree 1 cup and leave one more cup of it a bit on the chunkier side. Thanks for the great, easy, waste-not, want-not recipe, Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I was looking for a way to use up some cantalope that has been in my fridge. I stumbled across this recipe. An figured I would give it a try. 3 words "Oh My God". this is such an incredible bread. I didn't use the glaze and instead of flouring the pan I sugared it instead. If you haven't tried this yet give it a shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
I was skeptical about cantaloupe bread; I'd never heard of it. wow! What a delicious surprise!! It's my favorite bread recipe now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
This was delicious! Really doesn't taste like cantaloupe. I reduced the sugar about 25% and also used 1/2 applesauce for the oil. It was very moist! I didn't put the glaze on...plenty tasty without it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
This was great. I had a fruit platter a few days ago and was looking for ways to use the fruit before it went rotten. This bread was so easy and yummy. My picky husband even liked it. Who knew you could make bread using melon? Seems weird, but it works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Leigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
Wonderful bread! Similar to other fruit breads with a slightly different taste. The glaze is super sweet so you don't need much. No one will ever guess that it's cantaloupe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
Very moist and the cantaloupe gives it a nice sweetness but not too sweet. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States