Cantaloupe Bread with Praline Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This bread has great texture...nice crispy top and moist inside. Only problem is there pretty much is very little flavor. I skipped the glaze on top and put nuts in the batter, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I wonder what it would taste like if you replaced all the oil with more pureed cantaloupe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
yummy! i made this using splenda instead of white sugar for the bread. and i used cinnamon applesauce instead of the oil. it's soooo good and made the house smell great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Vinings, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Amazing! Moist and spicy, and a hit with coworkers and kids alike. It doesn't even need the praline glaze. I followed other reviews and reduced the fat: 1/4 c. oil, 1/4 c. applesauce, 1/2 c. extra pureed cantaloupe. I will never worry again about too much or too ripe cantaloupe! It freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnieB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
This was surprisingly good for what it is, although I still prefer banana nut bread. I'd never heard of cantaloupe bread before, but I had some cantaloupe sitting around and thought I'd try it out. I halved the recipe to make one loaf and it came out pretty small using about half the pan. I skipped the glaze, and made the following changes: replaced half the sugar with splenda, replaced half the oil with no sugar added granny smith apple sauce, added 1 tbsp sugar free orange syrup, added pecans to the batter, and a bit of shredded coconut. It really doesn't taste much like cantaloupe and I was glad for that. It's definitely super moist too. I topped my slice with strawberries and a squirt of whipped cream and it was very refreshing. Didn't need the glaze at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This bread is very moist and has a nice cripsy/sweet crust... without the glaze. Instead of using 1 cup of oil, I used an additional cup of cantaloupe. For all my sweet baking, I always substitute applesauce for oil. Now I know I can use cantaloupe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
Excellent bread, even without the praline glaze. Couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linnea Quam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
A nice way to use of end-of-the-summer cantaloupe. I halved the recipe to make one loaf, and even then reduced the oil considerably (you could probably even sub applesauce in place of the oil, or do 1/2 applesauce, 1/2 oil). The glaze on this is really nice and adds an extra crunch. Reminds one of a pumpkin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
A great, very moist recipe. Not much cantaloupe flavor but a really good loaf/muffin. I think it'll be fabulous toasted. My changes: - Reduced the sugar by 1/3 and didn't use the glaze (my cantaloupe was very sweet) - Added a splash of orange juice - Substituted 1/3 of all-purpose flour with whole wheat flour - Replaced half the fat with pureed apples. These changes will create a product that will take longer to cook (>1 hr) but is very moist and flavorful while being lower fat, lower sugar, and higher fiber (usually the death knoll for baked goods). Note: A large cantaloupe makes 3.5x this serving size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
giving this an extra star for a great way to use up cantaloupe, and I like the fact that as you stated, Linda, it can be pureed and frozen for later use. My cantaloupe was very sweet and ripe and with 2 cups sugar, I didn't do the glaze. The cataloupe taste is mild. Omitted cinnamon from the batter and instead sprinkled a cinnamon/sugar mixture into my sprayed pans before adding the batter. only 1 tsp. of vanilla and added orange blossom water instead, as I have found that this enhances the flavor of cataloupe. Used 3/4 applesauce and 1/4 oil and it is very moist. Added the zest of one lime to the batter to give it a little more zing. this made 2 nice loaves and I also made a small muffin to sample and review. Easy recipe to throw together. Next time I might add 1/4 tsp. more of salt to help enhance the cataloupe flavor. It was nice to get an occasional small sliver of cataloupe. I think I might puree 1 cup and leave one more cup of it a bit on the chunkier side. Thanks for the great, easy, waste-not, want-not recipe, Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I was looking for a way to use up some cantalope that has been in my fridge. I stumbled across this recipe. An figured I would give it a try. 3 words "Oh My God". this is such an incredible bread. I didn't use the glaze and instead of flouring the pan I sugared it instead. If you haven't tried this yet give it a shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States