Cantaloupe Bread with Praline Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Made this for a "Chopped" type dinner where we were to bring something using any type of melon. This recipe was an interesting twist, so made it. Using suggestions from other reviewers, I cut the cinnamon to 1 teaspoon and used a bundt cake pan (easier to serve). I did not make the glaze due to my nut allergy and a lot of the reviews saying bread was already sweet enough. This bread was a HUGE hit, particularly with the children at the dinner! One of the teenagers stated "this bread would be awesome with maple bacon crushed up on top!" -- I may try that next time, LOL! This recipe is most definitely a keeper and I will make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This is a really great recipe to use up very ripe cantaloupe. I made the bread portion, but not the topping. We like to toast the bread for breakfast and I knew the topping wouldn't work in the toaster. The one change I used in bread recipe was to sub 1/2 c. applesauce for 1/2 c. of the oil. I knew one cup of oil would make the bread have a super moist texture. Even with subbing out part of the oil, the bread has a moist, almost sticky feeling to the texture. I made 5 smaller (3 1/2 x 6) pans rather than 2 big pans, baking them for 45 minutes. The taste is wonderful and the house smells amazing while it is baking. I appreciate this recipe for the simple fact that I hate wasting food, and this is a great use for ripe cantaloupe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
It was so moist and not too sweet! Especially good when still warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
The bread is nice and moist but there's no taste of cantaloupe. Also the amount of sugar and oil needed to make this is crazy, compared to a banana bread for example. Also the glaze in the end is requiring 2 2/3 chups of brown sugar. There was no way I could put all of that thick sugary buttery glaze on. Maybe it'ssupposed toonly be a 2/3 cup, I'm not sure. Regardless, I will not be making this again. I may substitute cantaloupe for the banana in the banana bread recipe but this recipe will not get saved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I too had an under ripe cantaloupe when I found this recipe. I made the following changes to the recipe when I made my bread. 3/4 cup softened butter to replace the oil, 3 cups of bread flour, 3 teaspoons of baking powder, and I added 1/4 tsp allspice and 1/4 tsp nutmeg, and 1 cup dried cranberries. I increased the baking temperature to 350°F. I baked this batter in 3 smaller-sized, prepared loaf pans and I lined the bottom of the pans with parchment paper to prevent sticking. It was moist and not too dense. I did not make the glaze. I cut into it while still warm and had a slice with butter melted into it. The bread had just enough sweetness and a delicate flavor. I then tried a slice with cream cheese I had whipped with my mixer, and what a wonderful added flavor to the bread. Cream cheese between two thin slices and cut on the diagonal will make wonderful treats for any occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Everyone loved this cake. Even my kids that all HATE cantaloupe!Made one loaf as directed and added chopped pecans to the second one. Both were successful. I used frozen cantaloupe that I had previously pureed. I didn't not bother making the glaze because I thought that there was enough sugar already in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
My family was very skeptical when I told them what I was going to do with our leftover, over-ripe cantaloupe. But when the bread was baking, I saw their noses twitching, wondering what that heavenly smell was. And when they tasted it, they were amazed at how yummy it was! They couldn't stop raving! I used butter instead of vegetable oil or margarine, and I added some cinnamon and vanilla to the topping. Incredibly tasty results! My only complaint is that there's so much fat and sugar in it- and our family is trying to cut back on those things. I think next time I make it I will try using applesauce instead of shortening and honey or blue agave instead of sugar. And I'll have to forego that amazing topping completely. But for an every-once-in-a-while treat, the original recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I found this recipe about 10 years ago for my sister's wedding. I dug it back up for my brother's wedding. It was still a hit! Everyone loved it. We served it on the cookie table as a filler. It went faster than the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Excellent recipe. My family loved it and my son never eats this kind of stuff (so it was indeed a surprise)! He advice was to put the nuts in the bread instead of on top. I'll try this next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I had bought a rather large cantaloupe from the farmer's market. It was only so-so and I was having a hard time eating all by myself since my children didn't care for it. I am so glad I found this recipe! I was also pleased to learn, from the reviews, that pureed cantaloupe is like applesauce in that you can use it to reduce the amount of oil in a sweet recipe. So, I added a half cup more cantaloupe and used that much less oil. Turned out great! The children devoured this bread and were bummed when it was all gone! I think I'll have to plant some cantaloupe next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romans8_38-39
Living In: Forsyth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States