Cantaloupe Bread with Praline Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Made this for a "Chopped" type dinner where we were to bring something using any type of melon. This recipe was an interesting twist, so made it. Using suggestions from other reviewers, I cut the cinnamon to 1 teaspoon and used a bundt cake pan (easier to serve). I did not make the glaze due to my nut allergy and a lot of the reviews saying bread was already sweet enough. This bread was a HUGE hit, particularly with the children at the dinner! One of the teenagers stated "this bread would be awesome with maple bacon crushed up on top!" -- I may try that next time, LOL! This recipe is most definitely a keeper and I will make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This is a really great recipe to use up very ripe cantaloupe. I made the bread portion, but not the topping. We like to toast the bread for breakfast and I knew the topping wouldn't work in the toaster. The one change I used in bread recipe was to sub 1/2 c. applesauce for 1/2 c. of the oil. I knew one cup of oil would make the bread have a super moist texture. Even with subbing out part of the oil, the bread has a moist, almost sticky feeling to the texture. I made 5 smaller (3 1/2 x 6) pans rather than 2 big pans, baking them for 45 minutes. The taste is wonderful and the house smells amazing while it is baking. I appreciate this recipe for the simple fact that I hate wasting food, and this is a great use for ripe cantaloupe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
It was so moist and not too sweet! Especially good when still warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
The bread is nice and moist but there's no taste of cantaloupe. Also the amount of sugar and oil needed to make this is crazy, compared to a banana bread for example. Also the glaze in the end is requiring 2 2/3 chups of brown sugar. There was no way I could put all of that thick sugary buttery glaze on. Maybe it'ssupposed toonly be a 2/3 cup, I'm not sure. Regardless, I will not be making this again. I may substitute cantaloupe for the banana in the banana bread recipe but this recipe will not get saved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I too had an under ripe cantaloupe when I found this recipe. I made the following changes to the recipe when I made my bread. 3/4 cup softened butter to replace the oil, 3 cups of bread flour, 3 teaspoons of baking powder, and I added 1/4 tsp allspice and 1/4 tsp nutmeg, and 1 cup dried cranberries. I increased the baking temperature to 350°F. I baked this batter in 3 smaller-sized, prepared loaf pans and I lined the bottom of the pans with parchment paper to prevent sticking. It was moist and not too dense. I did not make the glaze. I cut into it while still warm and had a slice with butter melted into it. The bread had just enough sweetness and a delicate flavor. I then tried a slice with cream cheese I had whipped with my mixer, and what a wonderful added flavor to the bread. Cream cheese between two thin slices and cut on the diagonal will make wonderful treats for any occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Everyone loved this cake. Even my kids that all HATE cantaloupe!Made one loaf as directed and added chopped pecans to the second one. Both were successful. I used frozen cantaloupe that I had previously pureed. I didn't not bother making the glaze because I thought that there was enough sugar already in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
My family was very skeptical when I told them what I was going to do with our leftover, over-ripe cantaloupe. But when the bread was baking, I saw their noses twitching, wondering what that heavenly smell was. And when they tasted it, they were amazed at how yummy it was! They couldn't stop raving! I used butter instead of vegetable oil or margarine, and I added some cinnamon and vanilla to the topping. Incredibly tasty results! My only complaint is that there's so much fat and sugar in it- and our family is trying to cut back on those things. I think next time I make it I will try using applesauce instead of shortening and honey or blue agave instead of sugar. And I'll have to forego that amazing topping completely. But for an every-once-in-a-while treat, the original recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I found this recipe about 10 years ago for my sister's wedding. I dug it back up for my brother's wedding. It was still a hit! Everyone loved it. We served it on the cookie table as a filler. It went faster than the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Excellent recipe. My family loved it and my son never eats this kind of stuff (so it was indeed a surprise)! He advice was to put the nuts in the bread instead of on top. I'll try this next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I had bought a rather large cantaloupe from the farmer's market. It was only so-so and I was having a hard time eating all by myself since my children didn't care for it. I am so glad I found this recipe! I was also pleased to learn, from the reviews, that pureed cantaloupe is like applesauce in that you can use it to reduce the amount of oil in a sweet recipe. So, I added a half cup more cantaloupe and used that much less oil. Turned out great! The children devoured this bread and were bummed when it was all gone! I think I'll have to plant some cantaloupe next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romans8_38-39
Living In: Forsyth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States