Can't Tell They're Low-fat Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2000
Very moist and my kids loved them. There's an extra bonus knowing there are prunes in them! Not as rich or chocolately as I like brownies to be but at least they're guilt-free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2000
We loved them. I did not have any prune baby food so I improvised. We have 3 fig trees and we had dehydrated quite a few figs. So I boiled some of them in water and then pureed them in the blender adding just enough water to make them the consistency of baby food. The results were wonderful! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
These brownies are so chewy and chocolaty, I could not tell that they had very little fat in them. I actually used egg substitue, which reduced the fat content even more, and they were still delicious. This recipe goes in my recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2001
These are so moist and chewy. You would never guess they are also low in fat! I used egg substitute with great results. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2001
The best lowfat brownie I've ever made...I use this recipe a lot and never tell that they're lowfat. I cook only 25 min. for the moistest texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2001
These were pretty good for low fat brownies, but I have a quarrel with the # of brownies the submitter says the recipe makes. 2 DOZEN???? Don't think so. Makes 12 small brownies. I calculated (using MasterCook) the fat content at 3 grams each when making 12. But, I recognize that is pretty good. After all, they ARE brownies! Overall, good but not fabulous. Will keep the recipe for when I am craving chocolate. Hubby did not like them, said he tasted "something weird" in it (?prunes), but he is mistrustful that I might sneak tofu in there or something. Will make a batch for work and see what the gals say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NURSE24HR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pisgah Forest, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
I found these brownies to be okay. Not to choclaty of a flavor. I could really taste the prunes. Baby food jars are actully 4.5 onces and I doubled the recipe so had a extra ounce in whiich I did not realize untill after. I will try again and reduce the amount of prunes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
I tried this out on a several neighbors. They didn't go for it. It might be low-fat, but it's not that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
I used a jar of prune/pear mix since the store didn't have prune by itself they turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
I didn't care for this recipe...no taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

MMMMM... Brownies

These chocolate brownies from scratch are easy, moist, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States