Can't Tell They're Low-fat Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I just made these tonight since they fit my lactose intolerant ways. I warned the family and they were a little hesitant but ended up eating half of the batch! My only change was no prune, just four ounces of applesauce instead. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
Delicious! I was craving chocolate and wanted something I didnt feel too guilty about so I made these. I did however cheat a little and changed the recipe slightly. I took the advice of others and added 7 TBS of chocolate, 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder, about 5 ounces of apple sauce, used 2 tablespoons of butter instead of oil, 1/2 cup real sugar and 1/4 splenda, and threw in a small handful of chocolate chips. This gave it a little decadence but not over the top fattening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
I used 3/4 cup sugar instead, added 1/2 tsp baking powder, and used apple sauce.They were delicious! Might try with prunes next time just to see the difference.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by x_andy_x

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portneuf, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I made these for my dad who recently had a triple-bypass and needs to watch his fat intake. He loved them because he hadn't had sweets in a while, but I think next time I will use applesauce or mashed bananas in place of the prunes....to me, they tasted like a giant squishy raisin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Taste is good although the serving size is tiny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
I made these yesterday and they are absolutley to die for, everyone in the family didnt quite believe that they were low fat. I used applesauce instead of the prunes and also added the baking powder people suggested. I was gonna throw in a hand full of walnuts but that would kinda defete the purpose, didnt need them anyway. These will be made time and time again in this household....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
This is now my "dieter's chocolate fix" brownie recipe. People who aren't even on diets (and are also always brutally honest about my cooking) can't tell they're low fat, as the name implies. Sometimes I add chocolate chips, but that's cheating isn't it? I use real sugar, and I add 1/2 tsp of baking powder to give them some lift & they're wonderful. Contrary to a previous review, I've kept mine for a week before in a tupperware container on the countertop & they were just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillside, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pikesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
unfortunately, they didn't taste like brownies at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
I altered this recipe with Splenda, 1/2 substitute egg with 1 real egg, 1 cup vanilla fat-free yogurt and extra cocoa powder. The trick is to avoid overcooking. Cut down on cooking time by 3 minutes. These alterations cut out more carbs and fat, so the brownies are more cake-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
OK, these were all right. At first I thought they were really good but they got all moldy and watery after only a few days. Very mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Vegan Brownies

A great chocolate dessert for people who avoid dairy and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States