Can't Tell They're Low-fat Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I used soy flour instead of white flour and applesauce instead of prunes. As well, I used splenda rather than sugar. It tastes great but I wonder about adding baking powder or soda to fluff it up a bit. It is a great recipe though! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONPED

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This is the best low fat brownie recipe I have tried in years. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
YUMMMM....These brownies are SO good.. They are very moist and cakey. I also used applesauce in place of the prunes.I was looking for a brownie with less fat and this fit the bill to a tee... I mixed in some chopped pecans and had with low fat vanilla frozen yougert, yummy.Some peanut butter chips would be good in here also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
These reviews are so funny to read. I, too, found it funny to cut my pan into so many little squares. Hmph! I like my brownies big and fudgy. So I am going to try some of the suggestions next time I make them. But really, I loved these! I used the applesauce for ease and cut some of the oil. I'm rating it a 5 because OF COURSE it's not the real deal. For for low fat though, which is how it's advertised, it's awesome! And anyone who is trying to eat healthy or loose weight should try eating in smaller portions anyway, so the smaller squares aren't thaaaat crazy. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I amended this recipe slighlty and it was great! I can't believe how flavorful these brownies taste - you would never guess they are low fat. My subsitutions even made them lower in fat- I used applesauce instead of prunes, wheat flour instead of white flour and egg whites instead of eggs (1/4 cup egg white per 1 whole egg)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Didn't have prunes so I used applesauce and splenda in place of sugar. The results were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I used applesauce like others suggested, and this brownie was very bland, and actually really yucky. I have had better luck taking a recipe I like to use, and subbing fat free sour cream and/or buttermilk with applesauce for the oil, and it makes a much better tasting brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Draper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
These are supposed to be brownies? Could've fooled me; it's more like a chocolate pancake! Too flat to be considered cakey, an odd, indescribable, slightly-off taste, and no glossy, crusted surface as brownies generally have. The serving size is fine, if you don't mind a brownie the size of a Scrabble tile! Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
I'm thrilled with these brownies. We've always tried to eat healthy & regular brownies (with a cup of butter) don't work for me. These were great with 2 tbls. oil & 1/2 cup of applesauce (instead of baby prunes) were yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I thought I'd give these a try since the rating was decent.. I'm not going to lie, these were a disappointment. There was no chewy, moist texture. The taste was very bland as well. I tried this twice, using prunes once and applesauce the other time. Prunes are definitely slightly better, but truthfully, both are disappointing. Stick to real brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ggglitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Vegan Brownies

A great chocolate dessert for people who avoid dairy and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States