Can't Tell They're Low-fat Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly and they turned out very rubbery and cake like. They satisfy the chocolate craving but are nothing like the real thing, I probably won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Griffith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Millburn, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
For low fat they are good. I used splenda instead of sugar and I followed previous suggestions to reduce the the ammount. I wish I had not. Other than that, the texture was close and the flavor was unique. They passed the kid test. And that is what is ultimately important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Pretty decent for a lower fat dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
These were good but I think you can tell they're low fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneseo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Good thing this recipe is low fat because 10 hours later, all that's left is a pan for me to wash! I added an extra 1/2 T of cocoa & substituted whole wheat flour for A/P & melted butter for vegetable oil. The result were chewy, extra moist brownines with less guilt. I've already saved it o my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly
Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wyoming, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I teach a healthy cooking class in an elementary school. My class ranges from third grade to fifth grade. We used this recipe. The children did not like these brownies at all. When I asked them if they wanted to take one home to let their parents taste them, they all said yes. They wanted to play jokes on them. These brownies were very spongey and lacked taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Best Brownies Ever! I used applesauce instead of prunes, egg whites, and added walnuts. These were better than the regular brownies. My whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I used soy flour instead of white flour and applesauce instead of prunes. As well, I used splenda rather than sugar. It tastes great but I wonder about adding baking powder or soda to fluff it up a bit. It is a great recipe though! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONPED

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This is the best low fat brownie recipe I have tried in years. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
YUMMMM....These brownies are SO good.. They are very moist and cakey. I also used applesauce in place of the prunes.I was looking for a brownie with less fat and this fit the bill to a tee... I mixed in some chopped pecans and had with low fat vanilla frozen yougert, yummy.Some peanut butter chips would be good in here also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States