Can't Tell They're Low-fat Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
These were really good! I used apple sauce instead of prunes. Increased the vanilla to 1tsp. And added some mini-chocolate chips on top. It tasted a little more like a cake than a brownie but it was so moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Okay, I didn't have prunes, so maybe that makes them better. I used applesauce as I've read it's a good substitute. Man...they were barely edible. As some said, I'd rather just have a butter-laden brownie. Maybe I'll try again with prunes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
LOL 24 servings. Any brownie can be low cal low fat if you cut it small enough!! These were fine and they do reduce the fat because of the applesauce. I will defnintley make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
they aren't bad....... but i'd be lying if i said they were delicious... i mean i wish they tasted a little "low-fatish".. i added 1 tsp of vanilla. the only recommindation i have is don't eat them hot, they taste a little better when already cold down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sgash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I substituted applesauce for prunes, and I added walnuts. In addition I doubled the recipe and it made a 8x8 pan. The brownies were great! They aren't exactly like regular brownies, but the are a great substitute if your looking to cut calories and fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen B
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Low Fat? R U sure? :) I had a hard time finding plum baby food so I used fresh plums and just sqashed them up. Worked great. Tasted great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen B

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
These brownies are DELISH. I never take the time to write reviews but loved these so much I thought I would make the time. Used 1/2 cup applesauce instead of prunes and substituted out the white flour for whole whear flour and used organic sugar. Love the texture and sweetness! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Due to a strange series of events, I ended up having pureed prunes in the house. Recipe really needs to be doubled in order to even use the 8x8 pan; it makes such a small amount of batter. Follow Paradiso's review- extra TB of cocoa, only 1 TB of oil, 3/4 c of sugar. handful of choc. chips. I really want to combine the pureed prunes idea with the black bean brownies on this site. Dust with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I made this recipe using applesauce and had my family and a friend sample these brownies. We all agreed that yes, you could you tell they were low-fat. Very rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krigio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vaughan, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Made exactly as directed except I could only find 5 oz jars of baby food prunes, so I added the whole container. I didn't tell the fam what the secret ingredient was, just that they were low fat. Hubby knew something was different, but didn't complain when I told him about the prunes. My 6 year old couldn't stop raving about them even when she found out. In fact, she was asking me to make another batch this week. Hubby and I agreed that there is def a prune-y taste, but that seems to mellow over time. This is a great alternative to the high-fat original, but they do NOT taste exactly like the original. If you keep that in mind, you won't have a prob with these brownies. Thanks for the recipe - I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Vegan Brownies

A great chocolate dessert for people who avoid dairy and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States