Can't Tell They're Low-fat Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Really quite tasty especially considering the "healthiness". Not something I would serve to others, but great for when you are craving brownies but don't want to overindulge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MIKEY
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Pretty good! I used a mashed banana instead of the prunes since I didn't have any and decreased sugar to 2/3 cup. You can certainly tell they're low fat but they're good in their own way, moist and chocolatey. They turn out rather thin, I would make 1.5 times the recipe and maybe then they'll be a better thickness. Also I think adding just a few chocolate chips would make them really good ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
These are great for being lower in fat. I used applesauce instead of the prunes because that is what I had on hand. I also added in a small handful of chocolate chips just to give it a little something extra (even though I know it also added more calories!). This is a great, quick recipe to keep on hand and it doesn't make a whole bunch which is great for just my husband and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This was not to my liking. No flavor, dry and tough! Won't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I love this recipe! I don't care for prunes so I used no sugar added applesauce instead and it turned out perfect. I also used splenda and egg beaters because I am on a diet and I didn't want to cheat too much & feel guilty. TERRIFIC RECIPE!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Very moist but a bit lacking in flavor. Does however go great with some frozen yogurt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rdsxlolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
not a fan. the batter tasted ok but once they were baked I could totally taste the prunes. This may have been my fault as I didn't have baby food on hand so I pureed some apples with about 5 prunes... fresh food is always more flavorful than babyfood (ick). anyway, I will not be making these again. And would recommend to just use applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Great recipe! I used 4 ounces of apple sauce vice the prunes and added 1/2 cup of Ghiradelli 60% cacoa bittersweet chocolate chips (only 80 calories per serving of 16 chips), but everything else was the same. The brownies turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
These were really good! I used apple sauce instead of prunes. Increased the vanilla to 1tsp. And added some mini-chocolate chips on top. It tasted a little more like a cake than a brownie but it was so moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Okay, I didn't have prunes, so maybe that makes them better. I used applesauce as I've read it's a good substitute. Man...they were barely edible. As some said, I'd rather just have a butter-laden brownie. Maybe I'll try again with prunes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States