Can't Tell They're Low-fat Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
I thought that these did taste pretty good to be low fat. They came out moist and my family enjoyed them as well. I used 1/2 cup whole wheat instead of white flour, and as others suggested I used 7T cocoa, 1/2 tsp salt, 3/4 cup sugar (it may have still tasted good w/more but I try not to use more if I don't have to) and I used applesauce in place of prunes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Virtuous Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
These are really yummy! As suggested, I used 1/4 whole wheat flour and 1/4 white flour. I started with 3/4 of a cup of sugar, but the batter wasn't sweet enough for brownies, at least in my opinion, so I added another 1/4 cup of sugar to equal 1 cup. I also used apple sauce, 1 tsp of vanilla and 1/2 tsp of salt. I baked them in a glass pan for 33 mins. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_a_girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
These are very good for a low-fat brownie. On suggestion I used 7 TBL cocoa powder & applesaunce. Also, I doubled the recipe since I didn't have an 8 X 8" pan, and since I did not have anymore applesauce, I used 1/2 cup of fat free sour cream. Pretty good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
These are good, for low-fat. But you can tell the difference. I used exactly 4 oz. of the baby food, 1/4 c. whole wheat flour and 1/4 c. white flour, and somewhere between 3/4c and 1c of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
A pretty good low fat recipe. Reading the other reviews i used applesauce instead of the prunes & added an extra tbsp of cocoa. And it did turn out good with the whole wheat flour (of which i was very skeptical). I would use a little less sugar next time, maybe 3/4 of a cup. Adding 1/4 cup of nuts (walnuts) does give it an interesting twist. And i also added egg substitute instead of the eggs. Overall i was very happy with the results. Will definitely make them again. Thanks Roberta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
I quadrupled this recipe, and added in a couple tsp of baking powder. This made 3 pans for me, WONDERFUL WONDERFUL delicious brownies. Also, I sprinkled pecans pieces on the top. Everyone here loved em--6 kids plus hubbie. I tasted them and they were TOPS. KEEPER. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
The first time I made this recipe I used 7 TB cocoa powder, egg whites and apple sauce instead of prunes (all very good suggestions made by previous reviewers) The resulting brownies were good. The texture was a little rubbery, and you could definitely tell they were low fat. The next time I made them I thought what the heck, I may as well make them with whole wheat flour and let me tell you that fixed the texture and improved the nutrition all in one shot. I will coninue to use this great recipe (with the above mentioned suggestions) many many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
Pretty Good! I was skeptical at first using the prunes so I used 3.5 ounces instead of the 4.5 jar. I also added 1/2 cup of nuts and 1 extra tbsp of cocoa. I suggest cooking for full 30 min, if undercooked they are too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
These are the best solution to a chocolate craving - without the guilt. I couldn't find prune baby food, so I pureed some canned prunes and reduced the sugar to just over half a cup (because the prunes contained sweetener). I took the advice of other reviewers and increased the cocoa to seven tablespoons. The recipe resulted in 8 decent brownies, which I served hot with a scoop of low-fat vanilla ice-cream. You can't even taste the prunes. Thanks for a great recipe Roberta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
Yes, you can tell they are low-fat!!! I agree with others and will stick to the regular recipe although my husband loved them. My friends and I found them to be too fruity. When you eat a brownie you want chocolate taste not fruit. If you are looking for a fruity flavor then you will love this but if you want that good old fashioned bad for you brownie taste you will hate this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States