Can't Tell They're Low-fat Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
I gave it 3 stars because I made so many substitutions (Splenda, egg beaters, etc.) But they did not rise at all, unlike many of the pics on here. Has anyone tried adding a little baking powder to this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
OMG! Only change was sub unsweetened applesauce for prunes because I didn't have any, add 2 Tbsp of semi-swt choc chips. Possibly the best brownie I've ever had! Hubby & baby agree! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
I used the best cocoa power available here (which is Hershey's). This resulted in an excellent fudge style brownie. The whole pan has 24 X 1.8 = 43.2 grams of fat. I cut the pan into 16 pieces which meant they had 2.7 grams of fat each. With a dab of a fat free whipped topping, these are a really decadent dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Riverview, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This made a pretty fudgy, tasty, chewy brownie. I added half whole wheat flour and also doubled the recipe, and it made a nice full pan. The first bite scared me at first because I had finish some store bought brownies recently and they don't taste nearly as delicious. But I think it's a good substitute considering the low fat, whole wheat factor. I think maybe adding some kind of chips would probably make this really great. Maybe applesauce might have been better than the prunes, cuz you can taste the prunes a little bit. Not bad, just a different kind of taste. I'll make these again but I'll try making it with applesauce and some peanut butter candy chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathleen Vadala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
These were OK for a low-fat, low-sugar recipe (I tried it for a diabetic friend), but it didn't fool anyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Tried it with some of the substitutes and just not that happy, didn't taste like a brownie me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montebello, California, USA
Living In: Claremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Adding to my previous review, I forgot to mention that I baked this in a mini muffin pan and ended up with 21 servings. This makes it easier to keep with the 24 servings idea, although I usually eat between two and four per day since they are so tiny. I actually separated the recipe into four mini muffins per ziplock bag and threw them in the freezer. I take out one bag per day so that I don't over eat them because they are pretty wonderful. Also, baking them in the mini muffin pan creates more chewy edges than baking them in a bigger pan, which is always a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AngieM
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
These are good for a healthier option. I halved the recipe so I think mine came out more cake like because I did not put it in the right size baking tray also I think I need to reduce the cooking time even more. I added just a few white and milk chocolate chips as others recommended. I am not a fan of prunes and was well impressed that you cant really taste them it just tastes a bit fruit cake like . I did add an extra tablespoon of cocoa powder as others recommended could even add more :) I also substituted a small portion of white sugar with light brown. They definitely help with the chocolate cravings when trying to be healthy. looking forward to making again with a few more healthier tweeks e.g. substitute applesauce for the oil, use some whole wheat flour etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Well, they had a nice texture, chewy and fudgy, but with a fruity flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Brownies are good low-fat alternative. For chocolate lovers add another Tbsp of cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Vegan Brownies

A great chocolate dessert for people who avoid dairy and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States