Can't Tell They're Low-fat Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2006
I'm not sure if it's even possible to cut an 8x8 sized pan into 24 pieces! (chuckle) I didn't even notice until AFTER I made these that the calorie/fat info was for 24 servings...so if you take that into account, I don't really think these are that low fat! I put this recipe into a program that figures fat and calories etc. from ingredients and I cut them into 9 brownies and they were over 6 grams of fat per brownie! To me, the taste--while fine though "weird" according to my husband--was not worth that much fat to me. I would rather have a smaller REAL brownie than this one. It was fun making something new, though. And I used prunes because I like to make the recipe as stated at least the first time. Like I said, the taste was good, but they are not as low fat as they appeared to be at first. 24 servings! Can YOU cut that small of a pan into 24 brownies? That would be more like a bite to me than a serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
I used regular applesauce in place of the prunes and doubled the recipe for a 13 x 9 inch pan. The result was a moist, chewy and slightly cakey brownie! I absolutely loved it and will certainly make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRADYSMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakeview, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
Scrumptious!!! A fabulous substitution that is so easy to make! I followed other reviewers and did 1 extra tbsp. cocoa, only 3/4 cup sugar, only 1 heaping tbsp. of oil, 1 tsp. vanilla, 1/2 cup egg substitue, and nearly 1 tsp. salt. I threw in a small handful of mini, semi-sweet chocolate chips. Next time,I'll bake for about 23 minutes, for a fudgier bite. You can dust w/ powdered sugar when serving them for others- that is if you don't eat them all yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
The first time I made this recipe I used 7 TB cocoa powder, egg whites and apple sauce instead of prunes (all very good suggestions made by previous reviewers) The resulting brownies were good. The texture was a little rubbery, and you could definitely tell they were low fat. The next time I made them I thought what the heck, I may as well make them with whole wheat flour and let me tell you that fixed the texture and improved the nutrition all in one shot. I will coninue to use this great recipe (with the above mentioned suggestions) many many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
I was very impressed with this recipe. Not quite like typical brownies made from a standard mix or from scratch, but for low-fat brownies I don't think you could do any better than these! They were fudgey, dense (in a good way), rich, and very satisfying. I baked them the full 30 minutes and found that this way the "edge" pieces have a bit of a crunch to them that some people like. Otherwise, they cooked very evenly and didn't seem at all overdone. I, too, used egg substitute (1/2 cup) in place of the eggs to cut the fat a bit more. I couldn't find baby food prunes so I used plums and apples (Gerber brand). The brownies didn't taste fruity or in any way odd for using the baby food. I don't see how a person could get 24 brownies out of this recipe, though. I used an 8x8 inch pan and cut them into 9 hearty-sized brownies, which makes the nutritional analysis about 3 grams of fat per brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
These are soo delicious! I don't understand the other reviews, maybe they are used to oil-soaked brownies because these are really yummy. I used canned plums which I pureed, cut the sugar and oil in half, doubled the vanilla, and still think they are incredible despite the reduced sugar and oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
You can definitely tell they aren't the real thing! Nothing beats a fattening, fudgy, chewy brownie! With that said though, they are a great substitute. The first time I made as directed, then the 2nd time I used Splenda in place of sugar, added extra cocoa and used no sugar added applesauce in place of the oil and prunes! And how do you get 24 brownies from an 8 x8 pan? You don't, unless the serving size of the brownie is the size of a life saver. :) More like 9-12 servings depending on how cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
Yummy! I used an egg substitute, and increased the salt to almost 1 tsp. and the vanilla to 1 tsp. The rest of the ingredients were followed exactly. I cooked it for 30 minutes, and the brownies were very moist and comes out dense and very chocolaty. My husband, who doesn't like low-fat anything, liked them immediately without even knowing what is (and isn't!) in them. Use exactly 4 oz. of baby food prunes and you won't taste the prunes. I tried another variation, adding 1/2 cup of peanut butter chips, and they were fabulous too (but the fat content went up, of course)! You might want to add something into the mix to break up the density (marshmallows? white chocolate chips?) I'm going to making this recipe lots more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2002
These were really good. I am a chocoholic with an unforgiving scale. This is a great way to satisfy chocolate cravings without the extra pounds. I ate half of the pan the night I made these. The only thing I did different was I used 4 egg whites to cut down on fat and cholesterol. My boyfriend thought they were too spongy, but other than that we loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
I love these brownies - use the darkest cocoa you can get and put a little extra in. chewy, fudgy, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States