Can't Tell They're Low-fat Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
This recipe was simple, and came out exactly as expected the 1st try. You can kinda tell they're low fat, but they're still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DWJHNST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sackville, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
I'm not sure if it's even possible to cut an 8x8 sized pan into 24 pieces! (chuckle) I didn't even notice until AFTER I made these that the calorie/fat info was for 24 servings...so if you take that into account, I don't really think these are that low fat! I put this recipe into a program that figures fat and calories etc. from ingredients and I cut them into 9 brownies and they were over 6 grams of fat per brownie! To me, the taste--while fine though "weird" according to my husband--was not worth that much fat to me. I would rather have a smaller REAL brownie than this one. It was fun making something new, though. And I used prunes because I like to make the recipe as stated at least the first time. Like I said, the taste was good, but they are not as low fat as they appeared to be at first. 24 servings! Can YOU cut that small of a pan into 24 brownies? That would be more like a bite to me than a serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
I joined just to rate this recipe! These are GREAT! The only variation I made to this recipe was to use Hershey's dark cocoa powder, so they were really chocolatey. These are excellant when your trying to maintain a healthy diet yet desperatly need a chocolate fix! Trust me you truly can not tell these are low fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
These aren't bad for low fat. You can taste the cocoa powder and I will admit they aren't as good as regular fattening brownies, but these are great to get you through your chocolate cravings while watching your weight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
They were OK. The flavor was a little odd though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GalantaEire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
These were okay. My husband thought they tasted like chocolate crepes; said he could taste the eggs. I used half sugar and half splenda. I also used one 2.5 ounce jar of baby prunes and one 2 ounce jar of baby apples because that was what I had on hand. I ended up using these to make a trifle with chocolate pudding and cool whip. They were much better in that context!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
Very tasty for a low fat brownie. They came out somewhat flat looking but still tasted VG & were very easy to cut. I used applesauce instead of prunes, & added 1/2 tsp baking powder. I also substituted the 1 c of white sugar with 1/2 c Splenda Sugar Blend For Baking & increased the vanilla to 1 tsp & chocolate to 7 TB. Lastly, I used 1 egg & 1/4 c egg sub & Enova oil. Baked for 24 minutes. Would make again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
WOWZER... these are GREAT. I used mashed bananas and although we could taste the fuit a little, they still are delish, will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
These are a great low fat version of brownies. I used olive oil in place of veg. oil and also used applesauce in place of prunes. Before I put them in the oven I drizzled them with fat free caramel. They were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I only baked for 20 minutes because I am not a big fan of cake-like brownies. These were really good. I substituted applesauce for the prunes (what I had on hand) and splenda for the sugar. My husband, youngest son and I really liked. The texture is a little different but still very good. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI

Displaying results 71-80 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Vegan Brownies

A great chocolate dessert for people who avoid dairy and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States