Can't Tell They're Low-fat Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
i don't know what went wrong with these... i used applesauce instead of the baby food as another user suggested, but wow, disaster. the flavor was bitter and the texture was like rubber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
These were excellent! My husband and I loved them, and I will be making them again. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ranessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
What a dissapointment! We followed the directions - nothing was changed. They were soooooo strange! The cutting knife fell on them & they stuck all over the entire knife. They couldn't be cut properly because they stuck to the blade & just bunched up all over the knife in a big ball mess. The flavor was OK. Full fat brownies are still the way to go. Just a normal portion size! The serving size for this recipe doesn't make any sense either. I don't see how you can cut that many brownies out of a 9x9 pan. I don't think these are as low-fat or as low-cal as everyone is made to think due to this tiny portion size. Go for the real thing! This is a dissapointment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen-Nay

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
These were moreso on the "nasty" side...:( I was disappointed!!! I thought from reading the reviews, that these would taste MUCH better than what they did! :( I doubled the batch, & put it in a 9x13 pan. I used 1/2 c. Eggbeaters, 2 whole eggs, & instead of TWO jars of prunes, I used 1 jar of prunes, & 1 jar of peaches (what I had on hand). I think I'll just stick to my higher-fat version, & eat a smaller piece from now on! These weren't worth the 111 calories to me!!! (30 brownies) I made these to take to a fish fry where most of the ppl are on diets, but I will not be bringing them! I'm embarrased! (*_*)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kohler, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Ozark Acres, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Not the greatest. Very cakey and flat, and could've used a lot more chocolate flavor. I used applesauce instead of babyfood. I'd rather make a high-fat brownie recipe than these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
You can definitely tell they aren't the real thing! Nothing beats a fattening, fudgy, chewy brownie! With that said though, they are a great substitute. The first time I made as directed, then the 2nd time I used Splenda in place of sugar, added extra cocoa and used no sugar added applesauce in place of the oil and prunes! And how do you get 24 brownies from an 8 x8 pan? You don't, unless the serving size of the brownie is the size of a life saver. :) More like 9-12 servings depending on how cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
MMM. These were so good! I really liked them a lot because they still tasted like a brownie. I did add a tablespoon more of cocoa, added pureed prunes and dates into them (made them more rich) and also poured over some cocoa powder mixed with hot water to give it a gooey texture. LOVE THEM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakerLady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Yeah, you can tell they're low-fat brownies. They are, however, better that most low-fat brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
GREAT !! for a "that time of the month" chocolate six without all the guilt. I put in about 13 tbslp of unsweet cocoa powder. I made mine with no sugar strawberry applesauce (its what I had) & it gave it a bit of chocolate covered strawberry goodness. I also added almond extract & I a dash of amaretto once cooled over top mixed in a splenda/10x sugar glaze..... Very yummy,my BF covered it in PB and ate 3 pieces
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
I love these brownies - use the darkest cocoa you can get and put a little extra in. chewy, fudgy, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Vegan Brownies

A great chocolate dessert for people who avoid dairy and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States