Can't Tell They're Low-fat Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
These were moreso on the "nasty" side...:( I was disappointed!!! I thought from reading the reviews, that these would taste MUCH better than what they did! :( I doubled the batch, & put it in a 9x13 pan. I used 1/2 c. Eggbeaters, 2 whole eggs, & instead of TWO jars of prunes, I used 1 jar of prunes, & 1 jar of peaches (what I had on hand). I think I'll just stick to my higher-fat version, & eat a smaller piece from now on! These weren't worth the 111 calories to me!!! (30 brownies) I made these to take to a fish fry where most of the ppl are on diets, but I will not be bringing them! I'm embarrased! (*_*)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kohler, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Ozark Acres, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Not the greatest. Very cakey and flat, and could've used a lot more chocolate flavor. I used applesauce instead of babyfood. I'd rather make a high-fat brownie recipe than these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
You can definitely tell they aren't the real thing! Nothing beats a fattening, fudgy, chewy brownie! With that said though, they are a great substitute. The first time I made as directed, then the 2nd time I used Splenda in place of sugar, added extra cocoa and used no sugar added applesauce in place of the oil and prunes! And how do you get 24 brownies from an 8 x8 pan? You don't, unless the serving size of the brownie is the size of a life saver. :) More like 9-12 servings depending on how cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
MMM. These were so good! I really liked them a lot because they still tasted like a brownie. I did add a tablespoon more of cocoa, added pureed prunes and dates into them (made them more rich) and also poured over some cocoa powder mixed with hot water to give it a gooey texture. LOVE THEM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakerLady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Yeah, you can tell they're low-fat brownies. They are, however, better that most low-fat brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
GREAT !! for a "that time of the month" chocolate six without all the guilt. I put in about 13 tbslp of unsweet cocoa powder. I made mine with no sugar strawberry applesauce (its what I had) & it gave it a bit of chocolate covered strawberry goodness. I also added almond extract & I a dash of amaretto once cooled over top mixed in a splenda/10x sugar glaze..... Very yummy,my BF covered it in PB and ate 3 pieces
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
I love these brownies - use the darkest cocoa you can get and put a little extra in. chewy, fudgy, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
This recipe was simple, and came out exactly as expected the 1st try. You can kinda tell they're low fat, but they're still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DWJHNST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sackville, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
I'm not sure if it's even possible to cut an 8x8 sized pan into 24 pieces! (chuckle) I didn't even notice until AFTER I made these that the calorie/fat info was for 24 servings...so if you take that into account, I don't really think these are that low fat! I put this recipe into a program that figures fat and calories etc. from ingredients and I cut them into 9 brownies and they were over 6 grams of fat per brownie! To me, the taste--while fine though "weird" according to my husband--was not worth that much fat to me. I would rather have a smaller REAL brownie than this one. It was fun making something new, though. And I used prunes because I like to make the recipe as stated at least the first time. Like I said, the taste was good, but they are not as low fat as they appeared to be at first. 24 servings! Can YOU cut that small of a pan into 24 brownies? That would be more like a bite to me than a serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
I joined just to rate this recipe! These are GREAT! The only variation I made to this recipe was to use Hershey's dark cocoa powder, so they were really chocolatey. These are excellant when your trying to maintain a healthy diet yet desperatly need a chocolate fix! Trust me you truly can not tell these are low fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States