Can't Tell They're Low-fat Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Used applesauce instead of prunes, half whole wheat flower, and half of sugar was Truvia. Used one egg and one egg white. Added a handful of walnut. We topped with sugar free chocolate pudding and they were fantastic! My husband and I both loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
SO MANY and low fatty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Son
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Good overall recipe! Modified just a bit with a couple tablespoons of butter instead of vegetable oil and applesauce in place of prunes. And then of course, chocolate chips sprinkled in the batter don't hurt anything. Definitely make again to satisfy a sweet craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
great brownies..I substituted half the sugar with Splenda and my husband couldn't tell the difference..but it did change the texture a bit. Still I'll bake them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueberryqueen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I took the advice of other users and made this with whole wheat flour, 7tbls of cocoa power, 3 egg whites, and one heaping tbls of oil. The consistancy was great but the flavor was cardboardish. I put some hershey syrup on top to add some flavor and sweetness..helped A LOT. I would make this again but not substitute as many things (especially not whole wheat flour) and maybe add some sugar-free hersheys syrup in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
sooooo...I'm not sure if I did something wrong, but I will not be making these again! The texture was wrong, and they tasted like chocolate flour. Not good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
uh....can totally tell they're low fat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Made these exactly to the recipe and we have enjoyed them very much. Didn't go to the effort of cutting them into 24... sort of defeats the low cal. Plan to be stronger next time. There will be many more 'next time's . Carol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Oh you can tell they're lowfat...for being healthy, they taste great. Very moist. However, my husband though they were not to his liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Ireland

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Wainwright, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I replaced the sugar with Splenda, the prunes with apple sauce and used whole wheat flour. They were awful ... don't even resemble brownies. Given all of the replacements I made the rating should be taken with a grain of salt, but I am thinking I will be sticking with my good ol' fashioned full fat recipe in the future. Thanks for inspiring me to try, though ... I think I am just a sucker for fat and real sugar when it comes to brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjaneschmidt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States