Can't Tell They're Low-fat Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Really quite tasty especially considering the "healthiness". Not something I would serve to others, but great for when you are craving brownies but don't want to overindulge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MIKEY
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Pretty good! I used a mashed banana instead of the prunes since I didn't have any and decreased sugar to 2/3 cup. You can certainly tell they're low fat but they're good in their own way, moist and chocolatey. They turn out rather thin, I would make 1.5 times the recipe and maybe then they'll be a better thickness. Also I think adding just a few chocolate chips would make them really good ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
These are great for being lower in fat. I used applesauce instead of the prunes because that is what I had on hand. I also added in a small handful of chocolate chips just to give it a little something extra (even though I know it also added more calories!). This is a great, quick recipe to keep on hand and it doesn't make a whole bunch which is great for just my husband and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This was not to my liking. No flavor, dry and tough! Won't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I love this recipe! I don't care for prunes so I used no sugar added applesauce instead and it turned out perfect. I also used splenda and egg beaters because I am on a diet and I didn't want to cheat too much & feel guilty. TERRIFIC RECIPE!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Very moist but a bit lacking in flavor. Does however go great with some frozen yogurt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rdsxlolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
not a fan. the batter tasted ok but once they were baked I could totally taste the prunes. This may have been my fault as I didn't have baby food on hand so I pureed some apples with about 5 prunes... fresh food is always more flavorful than babyfood (ick). anyway, I will not be making these again. And would recommend to just use applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Great recipe! I used 4 ounces of apple sauce vice the prunes and added 1/2 cup of Ghiradelli 60% cacoa bittersweet chocolate chips (only 80 calories per serving of 16 chips), but everything else was the same. The brownies turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
These were really good! I used apple sauce instead of prunes. Increased the vanilla to 1tsp. And added some mini-chocolate chips on top. It tasted a little more like a cake than a brownie but it was so moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Okay, I didn't have prunes, so maybe that makes them better. I used applesauce as I've read it's a good substitute. Man...they were barely edible. As some said, I'd rather just have a butter-laden brownie. Maybe I'll try again with prunes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States