Can't Tell They're Low-fat Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
I really like these! I also followed the recommendations in the reviews... 7T of cocoa powder, 1/4 c. wheat and 1/4 c. white flour, however, I wanted to lower the cholestrol so I removed the yolks of both eggs. I also didn't have the prunes or applesauce on hand so I used canned pumpkin instead. They turned out really nice and moist with a good texture and flavor. The only change I may make next time is to add even more cocoa. Great low fat recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
I thought that these did taste pretty good to be low fat. They came out moist and my family enjoyed them as well. I used 1/2 cup whole wheat instead of white flour, and as others suggested I used 7T cocoa, 1/2 tsp salt, 3/4 cup sugar (it may have still tasted good w/more but I try not to use more if I don't have to) and I used applesauce in place of prunes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Virtuous Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
These are really yummy! As suggested, I used 1/4 whole wheat flour and 1/4 white flour. I started with 3/4 of a cup of sugar, but the batter wasn't sweet enough for brownies, at least in my opinion, so I added another 1/4 cup of sugar to equal 1 cup. I also used apple sauce, 1 tsp of vanilla and 1/2 tsp of salt. I baked them in a glass pan for 33 mins. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_a_girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
These are very good for a low-fat brownie. On suggestion I used 7 TBL cocoa powder & applesaunce. Also, I doubled the recipe since I didn't have an 8 X 8" pan, and since I did not have anymore applesauce, I used 1/2 cup of fat free sour cream. Pretty good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
These are good, for low-fat. But you can tell the difference. I used exactly 4 oz. of the baby food, 1/4 c. whole wheat flour and 1/4 c. white flour, and somewhere between 3/4c and 1c of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
A pretty good low fat recipe. Reading the other reviews i used applesauce instead of the prunes & added an extra tbsp of cocoa. And it did turn out good with the whole wheat flour (of which i was very skeptical). I would use a little less sugar next time, maybe 3/4 of a cup. Adding 1/4 cup of nuts (walnuts) does give it an interesting twist. And i also added egg substitute instead of the eggs. Overall i was very happy with the results. Will definitely make them again. Thanks Roberta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
I quadrupled this recipe, and added in a couple tsp of baking powder. This made 3 pans for me, WONDERFUL WONDERFUL delicious brownies. Also, I sprinkled pecans pieces on the top. Everyone here loved em--6 kids plus hubbie. I tasted them and they were TOPS. KEEPER. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
The first time I made this recipe I used 7 TB cocoa powder, egg whites and apple sauce instead of prunes (all very good suggestions made by previous reviewers) The resulting brownies were good. The texture was a little rubbery, and you could definitely tell they were low fat. The next time I made them I thought what the heck, I may as well make them with whole wheat flour and let me tell you that fixed the texture and improved the nutrition all in one shot. I will coninue to use this great recipe (with the above mentioned suggestions) many many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
Pretty Good! I was skeptical at first using the prunes so I used 3.5 ounces instead of the 4.5 jar. I also added 1/2 cup of nuts and 1 extra tbsp of cocoa. I suggest cooking for full 30 min, if undercooked they are too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
These are the best solution to a chocolate craving - without the guilt. I couldn't find prune baby food, so I pureed some canned prunes and reduced the sugar to just over half a cup (because the prunes contained sweetener). I took the advice of other reviewers and increased the cocoa to seven tablespoons. The recipe resulted in 8 decent brownies, which I served hot with a scoop of low-fat vanilla ice-cream. You can't even taste the prunes. Thanks for a great recipe Roberta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States