Can't Miss Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This recipe has some flaws or possibly typos. I rated it a 3 because I was able to save it. Other than the cucumber I did 1/4 of all of the ingredients. The cucumbers were still heavily coated in yogurt. It was missing flavor. I added dry dill to taste, a splash of vinegar, and a spoon of mayo. The yogurt alone did not taste like a dressing. It worked great then. Luckily, I have made enough of these salads to rework the dressing after tasting the flavor as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I didn't think this was too bad at all. Pretty good in fact. I went easy on the salt because of the potential of the cukes being too watery. Cut way back on the yogurt because I wasn't interested in soup and used green onion instead of a yellow or sweet onion. Also, had to have a sprinkle of dill as a topper because cukes and dill just go together. The parmesan was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This was a nice light salad esp. for lunch. I did not add the cheese but fresh tomatoes, basil and parsley. The suggestion of not adding too much yogurt is a must. it gets watery after refrigerating it for a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christiesp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
i'm sorry but I just thought this was flavorless. And it calls for way too much yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
6/20/06 I thought the flavor was fine when it was first made. However, I did have a problem with the cucumbers weeping after refrigerating. I will try pouring off the extra water and adding the yogurt just before serving next time. 7/4/07 I made this again and omitted any salt. It stayed better in the refrigerator, but I still didn't get very excited about eating it. Too much sauce and too much garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
Great idea, first cut way back on the yogurt: put in just enough to "coat" the ingredients like a salad dressing - then add more herbs like dill, basil and for fun add fresh diced tomatoes. It will be very refreshing and enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
Not a big yogurt fan myself, but I decidedto giveit a try. Still had a very strong yogurt taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GXROXY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
I tried this recipe and maybe I did not enjoy it because it really just tasted like the yogurt and never really got any flavor . I like the idea but like the other review maybe using sour cream instead of yogurt would help it out??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
This was just OK. I would suggest using chive onions for a little more flavor...or if not, perhaps the addition of dill would help. It wasn't very flavorful, but if it were coupled as a side dish or side salad to a main course that was abundant in flavor, it could pair ok. I would still consider adding a bit of sourcream to the plain yogart...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States